Skip to main content

BBAW Shortlists

The shortlists have been released and voting is now open over at Book Blogger Appreciation Week! Angieville was shortlisted for the Most Chatty category and I'm sitting here grinning. The category description reads:
This blogger has a very "chatty" style. You feel like you could be sitting together, sipping wine, and chatting about life.
I love it. And I love all of you who come and stay to chat with me. Some of my very favorite blogs are up for some very fun awards. So head on over and cast your votes! The polls close at midnight on Saturday.

Comments

  1. Congratulations for making the short list! That's so exciting. I voted last night in the categories that are relevant to my book blog interests. ... and of course that lead to time spent visiting some new and interesting blogs!

    Good luck!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I decided to go the utterly biased route and vote for people whose blogs I already followed and liked. So yeah you got my vote in that category. :P Umm.. the one that killed me was Best Romance blogger. I follow EVERYONE on that list.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Congratulations!! You've got my vote - I voted yesterday!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Christine, thank you! It really is nice to have a bunch of new blogs all set out for you to go explore. :)

    Janice, *grin* thanks! And I know what you mean. There were a couple categories that had me stymied.

    Donna, you're awesome! Thanks for making my day.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Congrats Angie! I've voted for you ;) Very chatty and wonderful indeed!

    ReplyDelete
  6. That is so awesome!! Congrats Angie.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thea, and to you! You guys rock and you have had my vote from day one. :)

    Michelle, thanks! I'm looking forward to all the fun activities that week.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Congratulations, Angie! I was so happy to see you on the list. I think it's an apt category for you, too. Good luck!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Jen, thank you so much and congrats to you as well! It was fun to be nominated among all the other fun blogs. You have my vote!

    ReplyDelete
  10. You have my vote, too, Angie. And I agree - it's all been a lot of fun!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I'm so glad you made the shortlist. You got one of my highest scores and I had never seen your blog before.

    way to go and good luck

    ReplyDelete
  12. Jen, thanks!

    Serena, thank you so much! You've made my day. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…