Skip to main content

Red & Black Pretties

Three (actually, four) authors I absolutely love. Three red and black covers to drool over. They all write and work in different ways and I am very much looking forward to their latest offerings.

Brought to you by the author of Looking for Alaska and An Abundance of Katherines and the author of Love is the Higher Law and co-author of Nick and Norah's Infinite Playlist, Will Grayson, Will Grayson tells the story of two boys with that same name who are about to meet one night in Chicago. Told in alternating point of view chapters, this collaborative novel has been in the works for awhile. And with these two authors at the helm there are two things guaranteed: I'm going to laugh and I'm going to care about these characters. Absolutely cannot wait to read it. Due out April 6th.

Ever since I closed Ironside, I have been impatiently waiting for Holly Black's next Big Thing and White Cat--the first in Black's new Curse Workers trilogy--is it. What little information is available indicates it is about a boy named Cassel and takes place in a private boarding school, features a family of grifters, and is about curse magic. Oh, and a white cat. And is a fairy tale retelling. And, well, you get the picture. It's basically another pile of awesomeness from one of my favorite modern fairy tale writers. Due out May 4th.

Last but certainly not least, we have the first YA offering from urban fantasy author Jeri Smith-Ready. Her WVMP Radio urban fantasy series about a group of rather charmingly out-of-pace vampire DJs is in my top three favorite urban fantasy series. Given how much I dig her writing, it's a no brainer that I will be picking up her first YA book. Shade follows a girl named Aura whose boyfriend is dead. But he just won't leave her alone. To find out why she, and others her age, can see ghosts, Aura must uncover the real relationship between the this world and the beyond. Due out May 18th.

Comments

  1. Anonymous4:06 PM

    Sadly, the Shade cover reminds way too much of a billion other YA paranormal romance book covers out. The Dark Divine, Bleeding Violet, My Soul to Take, Eclipse...

    The idea, however, sounds very different.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great picks, Angie. I'll be keeping my eye out for all of these in 2010, for sure.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anon, I'm with you. SHADE has the weakest cover of the three. They do seem to be hitting a certain demographic hard with the billowy, ribbony, shimmery nebulousness, don't they? However, Smith-Ready is awesome so I'm looking forward to reading it.

    Christine, as will I. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan