Skip to main content

Vintage Pretties

When it comes to gorgeous, incredibly effective covers, these three sort of hit it out of the park. Vintage Classics knows how to package a book is all I can say and I want--no, I need--these three editions in my personal library. Covers, both good and bad, have been on my mind lately and these examples just go to show what magic can happen when you let talented graphic designers who've--wait for it--Read. The. Books. create new, attractive, and inventive covers. All it takes is a glance at the twining roses set against the brick wall backdrop on this cover of North and South to send me into John-and-Margaret raptures. Similarly, the broken windowpane on Wuthering Heights instantly evokes Cathy's ghost calling out his name. As for Jane Eyre, the silhouette is perfect and I want to go re-read it right now. When you get a chance, wander on over and check out their complete catalogue. I'm a particular fan of vintage Dracula

Comments

  1. I love that cover for North and South! The only one of those three books that I've read is Jane Eyre. I should probably read more classics, but there are just too darn many books to read! Sometimes I feel overwhelmed. There are worse problems to have, though. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. That North and South cover really is too perfect isn't it? Need. Want.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I just bought a copy of North and South, and of course saw this one after the fact. Grr. But Vintage is doing some great things cover-wise! (I'm totally wanting Gormenghast, which I've yet to read, based on their cover alone.)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Those are beautiful covers! I want them :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. I think these vintage covers are fantastic. Long time fans will want these on their shelves, but really... what a way to capture the attention of some new readers of the classics, don't you think?

    ReplyDelete
  6. I love the Jane Eyre cover - I don't know, this sounds dumb, but there's something so relatable about a silhouette of Jane with her hair all messy that way. (Because my hair is always messy!)

    ReplyDelete
  7. Brenda, it really is too perfect. And I hear ya. The sheer volume of books I've never read overwhelms me all the time.

    Michelle, so do I. So. Do. I.

    Chelle, grrr. Sorry! I ended up gazing at so many of their titles. Lovely stuff.

    Heather, I know. The booklust...it grows.

    Christine, exactly! They work so well on so many levels. I would have loved them as much at 17 as I do now.

    Jenny, not dumb at all! It's so Jane. And so human. Yet still beautiful.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan