Skip to main content

Mystical Pretties


I'm really quite enamored of all three of these covers. All young adult. All fantasy. All filled to the brim with magic and promise. Who knows where the contents will take you?  Through a burst of feathers, an intricate keyhole, a hidden passage...the possibilities are endless. 

In the interest of full disclosure, I have not even read Incarceron yet! I simply haven't been able to get my hands on a copy. But I will. Never fear. In the meantime, can you believe what gorgeous covers Dial is throwing at these books? Talk about enchanting. For those of you who haven't heard, Sapphique is the second in this two-book set and follows Claudia and Finn and the prison known as Incarceron. Due out December 28th.

The Fire Opal by Regina McBride
Award-winning novelist McBride makes her YA debut with this tale of young woman named Maeve who embarks on an impossible journey to save her mother and younger sister from a fate worse than death. I like the girl on this cover. I like her dress and her simple shawl and all the Celtic overtones. I'm looking forward to accompanying her on her quest for the magical stone that will bring her family home once more. Due out May 11th.

Not long ago I read my first Sarah Beth Durst novel--Ice--and, though I found it a bit uneven, I enjoyed her take on the East of the Sun, West of the Moon fairy tale. I have to say, I think this new cover rocks. At once you can feel the modern collide with the Gothic and you want to know more. This one follows college-bound Lily as she tours Princeton and stumbles across a portal to another world. Also--talking gargoyles! Due out October 12th.

Comments

  1. Ooooooh, this is the first time I've seen the SAPPHIQUE cover! I bought the UK editions first, but this one is so gorgeous I may have to snaffle it as well...

    ReplyDelete
  2. All three covers are so pretty! I need to get picture frames that I can stick a whole book in to display my fav covers!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous9:58 AM

    Gorgeous covers. But what's with the Gail Carriger and Meg Cabot tags?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Beautiful covers! I haven't read both Incarceron and Sapphique but I look forward to reading them when I do get copies.

    ReplyDelete
  5. R.J., I know. I like the UK and US covers with these two. :)

    Heather, I think that all the time. Just plaster my walls with lovely covers. *happy*

    Anon, I was editing the post and for some reason it kept old tags even though I deleted them. I think I've fixed it now. Sorry for the confusion! Blogger elfs...

    Chachic, so do I! All three of these intrigue me.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The girl on The Fire Opal looks a lot like a young version of the actress Kristin Davis! I like all the covers, but my favorite is the cover on The Enchanted Ivy!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous12:45 PM

    The covers are great. Especially Sapphique.

    I loved Incarceron and I'm curious what you'll think of it. My friend sent me a copy of Sapphique even though I'm planning to buy the US version in hardcover. (The US hardcover of Incarceron is beautiful.) I didn't think I could wait until 2011, but it looks like the release date is now December?

    By the way, I'm finishing The King of Attolia now. I'm obsessed! I adore Eugenides. I'm so glad I didn't read the third book sooner because now I only have a week to wait for A Conspiracy of Kings. I hope the next one doesn't take 4 - 6 years. Thanks for the rec. The series is terrific.

    Karen

    ReplyDelete
  8. sapphique cover reminds me of the composition of leviathan (westerfeld), antique shiney lol
    love the feathers(?) in fire opal too, and that red stone
    not too fond of the fonts used for enchanted ivy...or the colors...the image itself is quite unique though =)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Gorgeous covers! I recently read Incarceron and LOVED it! So creative... ingenious, really. Very captivating. As soon as I was finished, I considered ordering Sapphique from The Book Depository as it has been out in the UK since 2008, but it's out of stock!!! I think that's a sign that I should wait. Besides, I want the US cover art. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Stunning covers all around. I think I need to go add "The Fire Opal" to my to-read list and definitely "Enchanted Ivy"! Angie, have you read Sarah's first two books: Into the Wild and Out of the Wild? They were fun.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Ladybug, you're right! She really does. And I really like the ENCHANTED IVY cover as well. It could venture over into the cheesy, but it just doesn't. :)

    Karen, well if you loved it then I really need to get a hold of it.

    And I am beyond thrilled that you're in love with the Attolia books. Can you believe Gen? I mean, seriously. Can you believe the awesomeness? *grin* There is something about that series that just incites obsession, I believe. Because that is exactly how I feel. Keep me posted!

    ninefly, good call. It's very reminiscent of the LEVIATHAN cover. Very awesome.

    Christine, there you go. I've got to go get it! And I agree, the US covers are made of win. So intricate.

    Ariadne, I haven't read them! I'm not sure why. They sound delightful so I need to remedy that. Thanks for the reminder.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan