Skip to main content

Mystical Pretties


I'm really quite enamored of all three of these covers. All young adult. All fantasy. All filled to the brim with magic and promise. Who knows where the contents will take you?  Through a burst of feathers, an intricate keyhole, a hidden passage...the possibilities are endless. 

In the interest of full disclosure, I have not even read Incarceron yet! I simply haven't been able to get my hands on a copy. But I will. Never fear. In the meantime, can you believe what gorgeous covers Dial is throwing at these books? Talk about enchanting. For those of you who haven't heard, Sapphique is the second in this two-book set and follows Claudia and Finn and the prison known as Incarceron. Due out December 28th.

The Fire Opal by Regina McBride
Award-winning novelist McBride makes her YA debut with this tale of young woman named Maeve who embarks on an impossible journey to save her mother and younger sister from a fate worse than death. I like the girl on this cover. I like her dress and her simple shawl and all the Celtic overtones. I'm looking forward to accompanying her on her quest for the magical stone that will bring her family home once more. Due out May 11th.

Not long ago I read my first Sarah Beth Durst novel--Ice--and, though I found it a bit uneven, I enjoyed her take on the East of the Sun, West of the Moon fairy tale. I have to say, I think this new cover rocks. At once you can feel the modern collide with the Gothic and you want to know more. This one follows college-bound Lily as she tours Princeton and stumbles across a portal to another world. Also--talking gargoyles! Due out October 12th.

Comments

  1. Ooooooh, this is the first time I've seen the SAPPHIQUE cover! I bought the UK editions first, but this one is so gorgeous I may have to snaffle it as well...

    ReplyDelete
  2. All three covers are so pretty! I need to get picture frames that I can stick a whole book in to display my fav covers!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous9:58 AM

    Gorgeous covers. But what's with the Gail Carriger and Meg Cabot tags?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Beautiful covers! I haven't read both Incarceron and Sapphique but I look forward to reading them when I do get copies.

    ReplyDelete
  5. R.J., I know. I like the UK and US covers with these two. :)

    Heather, I think that all the time. Just plaster my walls with lovely covers. *happy*

    Anon, I was editing the post and for some reason it kept old tags even though I deleted them. I think I've fixed it now. Sorry for the confusion! Blogger elfs...

    Chachic, so do I! All three of these intrigue me.

    ReplyDelete
  6. The girl on The Fire Opal looks a lot like a young version of the actress Kristin Davis! I like all the covers, but my favorite is the cover on The Enchanted Ivy!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous12:45 PM

    The covers are great. Especially Sapphique.

    I loved Incarceron and I'm curious what you'll think of it. My friend sent me a copy of Sapphique even though I'm planning to buy the US version in hardcover. (The US hardcover of Incarceron is beautiful.) I didn't think I could wait until 2011, but it looks like the release date is now December?

    By the way, I'm finishing The King of Attolia now. I'm obsessed! I adore Eugenides. I'm so glad I didn't read the third book sooner because now I only have a week to wait for A Conspiracy of Kings. I hope the next one doesn't take 4 - 6 years. Thanks for the rec. The series is terrific.

    Karen

    ReplyDelete
  8. sapphique cover reminds me of the composition of leviathan (westerfeld), antique shiney lol
    love the feathers(?) in fire opal too, and that red stone
    not too fond of the fonts used for enchanted ivy...or the colors...the image itself is quite unique though =)

    ReplyDelete
  9. Gorgeous covers! I recently read Incarceron and LOVED it! So creative... ingenious, really. Very captivating. As soon as I was finished, I considered ordering Sapphique from The Book Depository as it has been out in the UK since 2008, but it's out of stock!!! I think that's a sign that I should wait. Besides, I want the US cover art. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Stunning covers all around. I think I need to go add "The Fire Opal" to my to-read list and definitely "Enchanted Ivy"! Angie, have you read Sarah's first two books: Into the Wild and Out of the Wild? They were fun.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Ladybug, you're right! She really does. And I really like the ENCHANTED IVY cover as well. It could venture over into the cheesy, but it just doesn't. :)

    Karen, well if you loved it then I really need to get a hold of it.

    And I am beyond thrilled that you're in love with the Attolia books. Can you believe Gen? I mean, seriously. Can you believe the awesomeness? *grin* There is something about that series that just incites obsession, I believe. Because that is exactly how I feel. Keep me posted!

    ninefly, good call. It's very reminiscent of the LEVIATHAN cover. Very awesome.

    Christine, there you go. I've got to go get it! And I agree, the US covers are made of win. So intricate.

    Ariadne, I haven't read them! I'm not sure why. They sound delightful so I need to remedy that. Thanks for the reminder.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …