Skip to main content

Star Crossed Cover Art

Here is the very nice cover art for Elizabeth C. Bunce's upcoming sophomore novel--Star Crossed. I got all jumpy when I saw it as I have been really looking forward to this release ever since I went absolutely wild over Bunce's A Curse Dark as Gold. The writing was so stunning, and the reworking of the Rumpelstiltskin fairy tale so surprising and pitch-perfect that I vowed to read whatever the woman wrote. Star Crossed features a thief/spy named Digger, a land where magic has been banned, and a rebellion in the works. I simply cannot wait. Star Crossed is due out October 1st.

Comments

  1. Interesting, I've never heard of either of these books! I'll have to add them to my TBR pile!

    ReplyDelete
  2. If you have given your vow then I do believe this is an author worth checking out :) Nice cover and I just loved the title!

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks - I liked Curse and this looks fabulous.

    ReplyDelete
  4. absolutely GORGEOUS!

    ReplyDelete
  5. I still need to read A Curse Dark as Gold. Have had it my pile forever!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Mollie, CURSE is lovely and absorbing. I highly recommend it.

    Ladybug, definitely try CURSE. Just a heady debut, IMO.

    Raspberry, it really does. I'd been waiting for news on it and the blurb on her site is tantalizing. :)

    brizmus, I think so too.

    Lenore, it's worth it.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Oh, this so seems up my alley! (Oddly, Amazon has up a different cover. This one is better, I think, and I'm basing that mostly on the font, which I love.) I should probably read CURSE, too - I've heard so many good things about it.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Such a pretty cover! Plus I'm always curious about books that have a thief/spy protagonist, probably because of Gen from the Queen's Thief series.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I didn't know she had a new book coming out! hooray!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Can I just tell you that so many of the good books I read these days are because of you? =) lol. I am definitely adding this one to my list because I too loved Curse! =)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Chelle, that's a very odd cover up on Amazon. I posted this one as it's the one Ms. Bunce has up on her website and GoodReads has it up as well. Odd. Also, you really must read CURSE. You will love it. :)

    Chachic, don't we all have a soft spot for thieves now because of Gen? :) I actually have ever since George Cooper--the King of the Thieves from Tamora Pierce's Alanna quartet. *sigh*

    Janssen, lovely news isn't it?

    Camie, you have no idea how happy that makes me! I'm thrilled you're finding ones you enjoy. I knew you loved CURSE and we'll definitely have to compare notes when this one comes out. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. YAY!

    Thanks so much for posting this, I didn't know that she had another book coming out. I absolutely LOVED Curse and I've been dying to read more by Bunce.

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love rereading my comments to find out how confusing they are! :P I do hope the cover is the one you posted. And...off to get CURSE!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Vanessa, I was thinking of you. It's so exciting!

    Chelle, lol. I can't wait to hear what you think of it.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Fantasy novel + female hero who's also a spy/thief + rebellion = WIN. I'll have to go read Bunce's first book now.

    ReplyDelete
  16. this post has excellent information.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…