Skip to main content

Book Blogger Appreciation Week

Amazingly, it's getting on that time of year again. Book Blogger Appreciation Week 2010 will be held September 13th-17th. I had a very fun time last year participating in the week full of events, getting to know new (to me) bloggers, and enjoying the general merriment. This year everyone is invited to register their blogs for the week and, as part of registering, bloggers can self-nominate for any awards categories for which they feel their blog is a good fit. You can, of course, opt-out of the awards portion if you would like. In order to nominate, bloggers are instructed to post the links to five posts that best represent their blogs in the categories they are entering. So here are my posts for consideration in Best Young Adult Book Blog:

Review of The Demon's Covenant by Sarah Rees Brennan
Retro Friday Review of The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton
Review of Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers
Retro Friday Review of A Certain Slant of Light by Laura Whitcomb
The Parents of YA

and Best Written Book Blog:

Review of Linger by Maggie Stiefvater
Review of The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson
Review of This Gorgeous Game by Donna Freitas
Unexpected Moments
Stubborn Girls (and Why I Love Them)


That's it for now. I hope you all go register and take part. It's sure to be an excellent week!

Comments

  1. I am so glad that you decided to register and nominate yourself for some awards Angie! I'll be rooting for you the whole way!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yay, BBAW! Glad you nominated yourself, because I love your blog (and you deserve to win!).

    ReplyDelete
  3. Very cool!! Hope you win, you so deserve it!

    ReplyDelete
  4. *grin* Thanks, you guys! I was pretty uncomfortable with the whole self-nomination process. I mean, I understand where they're coming from with transparency, etc. But, still... :)

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous9:33 AM

    Still, you deserve to win an award. YOu have a great blog. Good luck.

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  6. So glad you registered and nominated yourself! I really hope you win an award. :) I registered as well but didn't nominate myself. I look forward to the activities for this event.

    ReplyDelete
  7. You are definitely on my shortlist :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks you three! I'm glad you registered, Chachic. It should be fun. I enjoyed it thoroughly last year. Good luck, Lenore! You know you're on my shortlist!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Congrats on making it past the long list. Good luck.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Anonymous7:43 AM

    Just wanted to let you know that three of your links in the Best Written category are not working. Makes it hard to judge ;)

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anon, they're fixed now. Sorry for the trouble. They were working before. Not sure what happened.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Hi Angie,
    Just found you via BBAW and wanted to let you know that I'm having problems accessing your posts re Best YA book blog - I keep getting the error message Not Found
    Error 404 - don't know if this is Blogger just messing around but thought you'd like to know so you can try to fix it!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Playing by the book, thanks for the heads up! I've replaced the links and they appear to be working now. Let me know if you run into any other trouble and sorry for the bother. Glad you dropped in!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan