Skip to main content

Fierce Pretties

With the fierce stance, the barbed lettering, and the gleaming sword, these three have been calling my name the past few days. It's all about the one-word titles these days and I'm continually amazed that they're able to keep coming up with them. I happen to like all three of these titles. Vesper has been a favorite ever since Lloyd Alexander's wonderful Vesper Holly series and these three look like they'll be a great way to break in 2011.

This cover is truly something special and it sounds like the insides are just as enticing. Subtitled "A Deviants Novel," Vesper follows an under-the-radar girl named Emily Webb whose sudden and out of character acting out coincides with the mysterious death of a fellow classmate also named Emily. The changes only intensify as Emily struggles to understand what is happening to her. Due out January 25th. 

I really enjoyed Flinn's Beastly a couple of years ago and I often think of those hilarious fairy tale character chat sessions and laugh to myself over poor BeastNYC, Froggie, SilentGirl, and GrizzlyGuy. So I was pretty excited to see Cloaked pop up and find it's a retelling of the Frog Prince fairy tale and perhaps it will feature the hapless Froggie! Love how this cover matches the one for Beastly. Due out February 8th. 

Get this. A competitive high school fencer who is magically transported back in time to an 18th century pirate ship. There really aren't enough YA books out there with competitive fencer protagonists, you know? Add in the time travel and you've got yourself a winner, folks. I have Ms. Vaughn's Kitty Norville series on my TBR, but I may just have to pick this one up as soon as it comes out as well. Due out March 15th. 

Comments

  1. Time travel? Fencing? Pirate ship? I am so there, Steel! Save me a place in line :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I like the idea of the Steel cover, but that girl's face seems disproportionate. Perhaps it's been elongated? I don't know...it just doesn't seem right. But! The story does sound cool. Hope it delivers!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've seen this cover for STEEL around and all I can say is that I WANT IT SO BAD. I love the entire concept. So much.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I have a policy to stay away from books with one-word titles ever since the slew of Twilight-wannabees started appearing. Those covers are very tempting, though.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Steel looks really good! I want to read that! Have you read Alex Flinn's A Kiss in Time? I've seen it around with the edition that matches Beastly.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I'd buy Steel for the cover alone (ya' gotta luv it), but the story sounds great as well. I've got a feeling this book is going to be big.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Steel is going straight to my wishlist immediately! :) Thanks for featuring these three books.

    ReplyDelete
  8. My favorite among those three novels is the Steel. I love the story so much. I really love the cover that they made. You will be so curious if you see that cover. Everyone should read this book.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous5:57 AM

    I've been holding out on Beastly because of the chat sessions you mention, but you make them sound fun. Maybe I need to read it before the movie comes out.

    The Steel cover is really nice. I wasn't a fan of the first book in the Kitty Norville series so I passed on Vaughn's first YA about dragons. I did buy her new standalone novel for adults (Discord's Apple) because it's about mythology and sounded great. This one also sounds great. I love fencing (took it in high school!).

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  10. hello friend...i'm passing on the versatile blogger to you. link here: http://moydrook.blogspot.com/2010/08/versatile-blogger-award.html

    happy weekend!

    ReplyDelete
  11. I just *so* love Alex Flynns covers, they're just so beautiful in a kind of whimsical way. I haven't yet read beastly, but i must admit, I want to based on the cover alone.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Anonymous4:53 PM

    I didn't know Alex Flinn has a new novel coming out -- and oh. That cover is gorgeous.

    And Steel sounds really awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Hey, I need to get in touch with my parents and their phones are off. Can you call me asap. 720-280-5308. Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  14. I have a policy to stay away from books with one-word titles ever since the slew of Twilight-wannabees started appearing. Those covers are very tempting, though.

    Except the one-word title trend in YA completely predates Twilight, which came out in 2005. NYT bestseller HollyBLack's TITHE was out in 2002, the sequel, Valiant (which inspired the titles for my series) came out in 2005. NYT bestseller Scott Westerfeld's UGLIES and PEEPS were both out in 2005...

    Had I known that one word titles were to become so prevalent, I would probably not have locked myself into a one-word-titled series back in 2007 -- but it has nothing to do with the Twilight series, which, after all, has only half of its titles as "one word" ones.

    ReplyDelete
  15. Lenore, *grin* we'll stand in line together then.

    celi.a, that may have been blogger smushing it. I see what you mean.

    Michelle, it really does sound great.

    heidenkind, I understand what kind of books you're talking about. But there really are some just excellent one-word title books out there. As Diana points out further down, it's not new and Holly Black's TITHE, VALIANT, and IRONSIDE are all great. As are Kristin Cashore's GRACELING and FIRE. None of them remotely Twilight-esque. Other even older one-word title books I love are SUNSHINE, DEERSKIN, and BEAUTY by Robin McKinley as well as SABRIEL by Garth Nix.

    Chachic, I haven't yet! Sleeping Beauty retelling, right? Must search it out.

    bish, I know, right?

    Violet, you're most welcome. It's interesting to see all the enthusiasm for STEEL.

    Karen, No. Way. You fenced? That is so great! How did you like it? And when you do read DISCORD'S APPLE, let me know what you think. I'm very curious.

    Jane, thank you so much!

    Carla, exactly. I love the whimsical yet dangerous quality they have.

    Sandy, I agree. I saw the cover for CLOAKED and got so excited. I'm a sucker for a matched set.

    Diana, great points. And I had no idea VALIANT inspired RAMPANT. How did that come about?

    ReplyDelete
  16. I love all of these covers, especially Vesper! The description is also equally as intriguing. Fantastic choices...now off to add them to my wish-lists!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …