Skip to main content

Jane Giveaway Winner!

And the winner is . . . ibeeeg!
Congratulations! ibeeeg's favorite literary couple is Claire and Jamie from Outlander by Diana Gabaldon--a book I have yet to read despite countless glowing reviews. Just shoot me an email with your mailing info and I'll try to get your book off quickly. Thanks again to April for so kindly participating in the interview. And thank you to all of you who entered the giveaway. I really loved this one so much and can't wait for it to be published and see what you all think. I had to laugh at the sheer number of you who declared Elizabeth and Darcy your favorite literary couple. I adore them as well and they are unquestionably much beloved by such a wide swath of the population. Amazing. Other top couples include Anne Shirley and Gilbert Blythe, Anne Elliot and Captain Wentworth, and Margaret Hale and Mr. Thornton.

Comments

  1. Congratulations ibeeeg, I hope you enjoy your new book :)

    I haven't read the Outlander series either but I've heard good things about it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm surprised to hear Jamie & Claire nominated for favorite couple. I had to quit reading only half way through.

    I really liked them, too, right up until he whips her naked backside with his belt so badly that she can't sit down for 3 days. (No, I don't care that he warned her in advance or that she deserved it--whatever that means.) I could ALMOST look past it as being historical, until he admits to her that he enjoyed it, was aroused by it, and it was all he could do not to force her into sex right after.

    This is the GOOD guy--the romantic hero--the thoughtful virgin husband. And their wedding night had been so lovely.

    When they finally get around to make-up sex, it's harsh and violent. And, now I think I need therapy.

    One small 700,000-word step for Diana Gabaldon . . . one giant leap BACKWARD for womankind!

    ReplyDelete
  3. CORRECTION: I should have said, "And their wedding night had been so lovely. . . IN A WAY-TOO-EXPLICIT, SPARE-NO-DETAIL kind of way!

    Again, I think I need therapy.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Sally, lol. Tell me how you really feel, will ya? :) See, I haven't read it yet basically for fear of the things that you mention. I don't know what it's like, really. And I have no idea which way I'll react. But I've stayed away a little worried I would feel the way you do. Hm...

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion, Vols. 1 & 2 by Beth Brower

I feel a bit giddy finally talking to you all about this series. If you'll remember, I fell madly in love with The Q  when it came out a few years ago. Now, Beth Brower is writing The Unselected Journals of Emma M. Lion — a series of novellas set in London in 1883. Each volume is an excerpt from the incorrigible Emma's journals, and the first two volumes are already available with the third on the way soon. I think they'd make rather perfect pandemic reading. Humorous and charming down to their bones, they're just what the doctor ordered to lift your spirits in this uncertain time that just proves to be too much some days. If you're experiencing one of those days, I suggest giving Volume 1   a go (it's only 99 cents on Kindle, $4.99 for a trade paperback copy). It will surprise exactly none of you that I own print and digital editions of both volumes.  Miss Emma M. Lion has waited long enough. Come hell or high water (and really, given her track record,  both a

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of