Skip to main content

Perspective Pretties


I like the way these three play with your notion of perspective. From the back of the first girl looking forward into the snowy streets, to the second one looking down almost hopelessly with pictures of moments hanging above her, to the third one looking back over her shoulder at who knows what she's left behind back in "normal." They're all three lovely in both title and cover and I am eager to get my hands on them.

Her and Me and You by Lauren Strasnick
I'll just go ahead and say that this is my favorite of the three covers. I just looks like a street I used to live on and that, combined with the light blue glow of the umbrella, and the wonderful title and I want it on my shelf. The insides sound quite complicated and not a bit daunting. Alex's parents get divorced after her father's infidelity tears their marriage apart. Moving to a new town with her mother, Alex finds attention in spades from bizarre twins Fred and Adina. Due out October 5th.

Fall for Anything by Courtney Summers
Fathers are not doing well for us this fall. After her photographer father commits suicide, Eddie devotes her every waking moment to putting together the pieces of the puzzle leading up to her father's unexpected death. In the course of her searching, she encounters one of her father's students who seems to know more than he ought to. I'm a huge fan of Summers' after loving Some Girls Are. Very much looking forward to her third novel. Due out December 21st.

10 Miles Past Normal by Frances O'Roark Dowell
I had to laugh reading a description of this one as it mentions protagonist Janie Gorman is forced to put up with a mother who is something of a celebrity blogger among the granola mom set. What a fun idea. Needless to say, she's longing for something a little more normal. I think I'll like Janie. She takes up the bass and joins a band and associates with the likes of a boy named Monster. Bring it on. Due out March 22nd.

Comments

  1. My favorite cover is the same, I just fell in love with it the first time I saw it. As for content I think that Ten Miles Past Normal is a book for me :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous9:45 AM

    I love Lauren Strasnick's cover! I'm also looking forward to reading the book. I'm a big fan of her first novel, Nothing Like You. It reminded me a lot of Liz Gallagher's The Opposite of Invisible, which I also loved.

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  3. These are gorgeous. I love the way the first one, "Her and Me and You," feels so full of things to be revealed. I love that in a book. Though, I'm also quite attracted to the others. "Fall for Anything" feels really inviting. Interesting that they've chosen such similar fonts, too!

    ReplyDelete
  4. These sound great! Thanks for sharing.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh my gosh I feel so behind I didn't even know Fall for Anything had a cover I love Courtney Summers! All the covers are so interesting they make you think.

    ReplyDelete
  6. I definitely want to read 10 Miles. Her and Me and You too, probably, since I like stories about twins.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I like them all! But I think I like the second one the most. Or maybe the first... I don't know!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Loving that cover for Her, Me and You. The story sounds pretty awesome as well!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous1:36 PM

    They are all really pretty, "Her and Me and You is" is the best, it creates an atmosphere (plus if you ask me less color is always a good thing) and I really love the title, so good

    ReplyDelete
  10. I love all of those covers and I had not known of these authors before...thank you for sharing them...

    ReplyDelete
  11. Ladybug, 10 MILES PAST NORMAL does sound fun, doesn't it?

    Karen, I haven't read her first book and am wondering why. You think I'd like it?

    Carolyn, nice job pointing out the font similarities. I hadn't noticed that!

    Shallee, my pleasure. I'm intrigued by each of them.

    Caitlin, I'm so glad it comes out this year. I've been looking forward to it ever since finishing SOME GIRLS ARE.

    Livi, interesting. Which twin books do you recommend? I don't know that I've read that many.

    La Coccinelle, lol. Hard, isn't it?

    Darren, it does. Not your run-of-the-mill sounding premise, is it?

    Ari, agreed. It just comes together as a very inviting whole.

    Patty, you're welcome! Happy to pass on the word on upcoming pretties. :)

    ReplyDelete
  12. These are all beautiful covers. Many times the cover of a book makes me want to read it even more. They all sounds like great reads!

    ReplyDelete
  13. I love the cover for Her and Me and You! The premise looks interesting as well. I will be on the lookout for reviews of this.

    ReplyDelete
  14. 10 Miles Past Normal sounds super good.
    Alison Can Read

    ReplyDelete
  15. Awesome line up. I want to read all three!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Yup, these all sound fantastic. I definitely want to get my hands on 10 Miles Past Normal. Thanks for bringing them to our attention!

    ReplyDelete
  17. They are pretty covers. The first two looks kind of sad and forlorn, but the third one looks fun. :)

    Ten Miles Past Normal seems like a fun book, if only for the blogging. *adds to wishlist*

    ReplyDelete
  18. Anonymous10:36 AM

    I think so, Angie. But if you read it, I would suggest reading The Opposite of Invisible by Liz Gallagher as well. The styles are so similar, but Opposite was published a year earlier. Both are very short novels.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Michelle, yeah, I love it when good things come in threes. :)

    Chachic, it really does. Sounds truly different. In a good way.

    Alison, yeah, that premise made me grin.

    Christine, me too!!

    Katie, that one seems to be garnering a lot of positive attention. I'm glad.

    Tina, that's true. They do look that way. Guess I'll pick which one to read first depending on my mood at the time.

    Karen, okay. Good to know.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's