Skip to main content

Still Here

Really. I'm just buried under a pile of Cybils reading as we stare down the bullet that is our deadline to turns over the shortlist titles to the round two judging panel. But I have been taking short breaks here and there to pop in here and there around the blogosphere. So I thought I'd share a couple or three things I've enjoyed lately.

First and foremost, Sarah Rees Brennan has posted a Christmas present to all her fans. In two parts, no less. And it is a most delicious present indeed--a short story set during the events of The Demon's Covenant and told from Jamie's point of view. It is just this sort of thing that makes me do my happy dance. So wait no longer, go enjoy Nick and Jamie Go to the Movies right now! Part 1 and Part 2.

Second, I've had loads of fun stopping in for the many and various posts of Smugglivus going on over at The Book Smugglers place this month. So many great bloggers and authors here, there, and everywhere. Even Megan Whalen Turner! It's a great way to celebrate the holidays and your favorite books of 2010. I'll be taking part a little bit later on . . .

Lastly, I came upon this rather pretty cover for an upcoming 2011 title and had to share it here:
Haven is Kristi Cook's debut novel, out from Simon Pulse in February. The first in a new paranormal series set in the Hudson Valley, it features a southern girl transplanted to New York and the unusual Winterhaven school. Sounds promising.

So. What are you all up to these days?

Comments

  1. We miss you! But it's totally understandable...can't wait to see what you all pick for the Cybils. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I figured you were busy with Cybils that's why it's been quiet here on your blog. I'm so glad Ana and Thea got MWT for Smugglivus, such a great post. :)

    Oh hey, I finished reading Long Live the Queen over the weekend and I plan to post a review within the week. I've started Long May She Reign but I haven't been able to read a lot because of a couple of dinner things this week.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Amy, aw, thanks. :) We'll be done with our deliberations soon!

    Chachic, yeah, it's coming down to the wire now. I hope LONG MAY SHE REIGN picks up for you. I am a sucker for Meg in all her cantankerousness. And so it was a blissful 700+ pages for me. lol.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I loved that SRB story - every last word. So wonderful. And now I'm feeling the need to go reread them :)

    Also the awesome prologue for MAGIC SLAYS. Yipee! So many wonderful holiday goodies!

    You are much missed Angie, good luck with the cybils reading.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …