Skip to main content

Perfect Pretties


It's been awhile since my last pretties post. I guess I've been waiting around for three covers (and synopses) that really got my heart going, you know? Well, these three are it. I cannot wait to get my hands on them and they each sound completely different from the others but completely perfect in their own way. These are three new-to-me authors and how utterly exciting is that? I also (amazingly) wouldn't change a thing about any of these covers. Not the titles, not the artwork, not a thing. They're perfect.

The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin
This one has slowly worked up my interest as I've seen the cover popping up all over the place. But I finally caved and read a (very) short synopsis and now I'm officially really looking forward to it. It's an amnesia tale (they can really go either way, can't they?) and it reminds me somewhat of Gabrielle Zevin's Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac, which I enjoyed. But I've perused the author's website and I like what I see. Especially how cryptic it all is. High hopes here.
Due out September 27th.

The Returning by Christine Hinwood
My excitement for this one is two-fold. First of all, Adele from Persnickety Snark gave it a resoundingly good review and Trisha from The YA YA YAs has it on her most anticipated titles of 2011 list. Both incredibly good signs. Secondly, ohmygoodnessdidyounoticethecoverblurbbynoneotherthanMeganWhalenTurner? SOLD. Interestingly, this is Ms. Hinwood's first book and it was originally published in Australia in 2009 under the title Bloodflower.
Due out April 14th.

Dreams of Significant Girls by Cristina Garcia
It's to do with the title. I am in very deep love with this title and wanted to read the book before I even remotely knew what it was about. Turns out, it's about three very different young girls who become roommates at a Swiss boarding school. An Iranian princess, a German-Canadian eccentric, and a Cuban-Jewish New Yorker culinary phenom. Well, why not?
Due out July 12th.

Comments

  1. I actually won an art print of the Unbecoming of Mara Dyer from Michelle...that is probably the most beautiful cover I have seen in a very long time :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Beautiful covers, the stories don't sound bad either :) I think my favourite's the third one.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Oh these are so pretty! I love the cover of Dreams of Significant Girls. Looks lovely.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oh wow. I'm sold on The Returning by the blurb alone, too! Must find out what it says.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Lovely covers! The premise all look interesting too. Must look them up in Goodreads and add in my wishlist. The blurb from MWT is so exciting! *squee* I'm always interested in books that she recommends.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous6:35 PM

    I love the sound of all of these books! They all have such gorgeous covers too. I love the unique plot premise of Dreams of Significant Girls the most, it sounds like it's going to be a lot of fun. :D

    ReplyDelete
  7. Beautiful covers!

    ReplyDelete
  8. It is not possible to determine whether these events are related directly to these medicines or to other factors. If you experience sudden decrease or loss of vision, stop taking PDE5 inhibitors, including viagra without prescription, and call a doctor right away.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Sudden decrease or loss of hearing has been rarely reported in people taking PDE5 inhibitors, including kamagra.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th