Skip to main content

Hip Pretties

Couldn't very well wait on these two, could I? I've read exactly one book by each of these authors and I have loved, repeat: loved, them both. Tara Kelly's Harmonic Feedback and Stephanie Perkins' Anna and the French Kiss were among my very favorite books of last year. Contemporary YAs, both of them, they featured such real protagonists in such messy situations. As well as two of my four favorite Nice Guys of YA from last year. *happysigh* This fall is going to be a good one.

Amplified by Tara Kelly
Jasmine's always wanted to make it big. So when she gets kicked out, she does the only sensible thing and heads to Santa Cruz to convince some musicians to let her move in with them and join their band. Though she may sound a far cry from quiet, contained Drea, I'm pretty sure I'm going to dig Jasmine and her story. I'm already madly in love with her cover.
Due out October 25th.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Lola--she of the exceptionally awesome purple wig--is pleased as punch with her life, thank you very much. That's why she's so displeased when the Bell twins move back in next door and mess with her carefully laid plans. Especially that pesky Cricket Bell--the boy next door. Note the San Francisco row houses in the cover above. Let's see . . . who else do we know from this world who's got connections in Frisco?
Due out September 29th.

Comments

  1. Anonymous2:30 PM

    This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous2:40 PM

    I loved Anna and the French Kiss, I can't wait to read Lola and the Boy Next Door. The cover is so cute and I'm so in love with her purple wig. Lola's voice reminds me of Anna, September looks ridiculously far away now! :D Love the cover for Amplified too, Jasmine sounds like a great heroine!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm extremely excited for both of these!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Can't wait to read Lola! I'm so glad the cover and the synopsis have been released.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm obsessed with Anna and the French Kiss. I think I've read it like 4 times already in the last few months! It's ridiciulous. Can't wait for Lola and the Boy Next Doo. Looks so great!

    I have never heard of Tara Kelly.. thanks for the rec! The liraries here in TN (we recently moved) SUCK so I'm having a hard time getting a hold of all the books I want to read. Hopefully they'll have Harmonic Feedback there! *crosses fingers*

    ReplyDelete
  6. Want! I love that cover for LOLA - so cute. Although I still need to read HARMONIC FEEDBACK, it seems a winner.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan