Skip to main content

Hip Pretties

Couldn't very well wait on these two, could I? I've read exactly one book by each of these authors and I have loved, repeat: loved, them both. Tara Kelly's Harmonic Feedback and Stephanie Perkins' Anna and the French Kiss were among my very favorite books of last year. Contemporary YAs, both of them, they featured such real protagonists in such messy situations. As well as two of my four favorite Nice Guys of YA from last year. *happysigh* This fall is going to be a good one.

Amplified by Tara Kelly
Jasmine's always wanted to make it big. So when she gets kicked out, she does the only sensible thing and heads to Santa Cruz to convince some musicians to let her move in with them and join their band. Though she may sound a far cry from quiet, contained Drea, I'm pretty sure I'm going to dig Jasmine and her story. I'm already madly in love with her cover.
Due out October 25th.

Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
Lola--she of the exceptionally awesome purple wig--is pleased as punch with her life, thank you very much. That's why she's so displeased when the Bell twins move back in next door and mess with her carefully laid plans. Especially that pesky Cricket Bell--the boy next door. Note the San Francisco row houses in the cover above. Let's see . . . who else do we know from this world who's got connections in Frisco?
Due out September 29th.

Comments

  1. Anonymous2:30 PM

    This comment has been removed by the author.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous2:40 PM

    I loved Anna and the French Kiss, I can't wait to read Lola and the Boy Next Door. The cover is so cute and I'm so in love with her purple wig. Lola's voice reminds me of Anna, September looks ridiculously far away now! :D Love the cover for Amplified too, Jasmine sounds like a great heroine!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I'm extremely excited for both of these!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Can't wait to read Lola! I'm so glad the cover and the synopsis have been released.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm obsessed with Anna and the French Kiss. I think I've read it like 4 times already in the last few months! It's ridiciulous. Can't wait for Lola and the Boy Next Doo. Looks so great!

    I have never heard of Tara Kelly.. thanks for the rec! The liraries here in TN (we recently moved) SUCK so I'm having a hard time getting a hold of all the books I want to read. Hopefully they'll have Harmonic Feedback there! *crosses fingers*

    ReplyDelete
  6. Want! I love that cover for LOLA - so cute. Although I still need to read HARMONIC FEEDBACK, it seems a winner.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan