Skip to main content

Threads of Awesome

I ran across this unspeakably awesome project and I cannot stop admiring it. Illustrator and cartoonist Jillian Tamaki has created a set of stunning Penguin Threads Deluxe Classics book covers. And they are . . . well, click on over and see for yourself. She's got images up of her embroidered covers for The Secret Garden, Emma, and Black Beauty. Genius.

Thanks to Amy at Simple Little Bookworm for the heads up!

Comments

  1. Those covers are lovely!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I want them in my house.

    ReplyDelete
  3. That is so cool. I want them.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for the link! Maybe she'll be commissioned to do a Jane Eyre cover *fingers crossed*

    I looked around her sight a bit more, and she has the most lovely portrait of Christina Rossetti. Here's the link: http://blog.jilliantamaki.com/2011/02/portrait-of-christina-rossetti-sketch/

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wow. That is true artistry! I wonder if they'll turn the covers into prints so that people (like me!) can actually buy the books with those jackets??

    ReplyDelete
  6. Those are totally gorgeous! I especially love the Emma. Well - they're all great! Thanks so much for sharing that link with us!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow, those are lovely!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks for the link! Penguin Classics are some of my favorite editions, and I love all the nifty covers they're doing nowadays.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks for the link back! I'm happy to share. :) The only thing this news is bad for is my wallet.

    ReplyDelete
  10. PS. RTB, I adore Christina Rossetti. That's a beautiful image.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous11:22 PM

    Wow. She's go skills! Now I want one. She should totally go all the way and do illustrations for all of them =P

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  12. goodness, those are gorgeous!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oh wow! Embroidery *and* books - I think I'm in love!!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I love them! Can't wait to buy them. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…