Skip to main content

Threads of Awesome

I ran across this unspeakably awesome project and I cannot stop admiring it. Illustrator and cartoonist Jillian Tamaki has created a set of stunning Penguin Threads Deluxe Classics book covers. And they are . . . well, click on over and see for yourself. She's got images up of her embroidered covers for The Secret Garden, Emma, and Black Beauty. Genius.

Thanks to Amy at Simple Little Bookworm for the heads up!

Comments

  1. Those covers are lovely!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I want them in my house.

    ReplyDelete
  3. That is so cool. I want them.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for the link! Maybe she'll be commissioned to do a Jane Eyre cover *fingers crossed*

    I looked around her sight a bit more, and she has the most lovely portrait of Christina Rossetti. Here's the link: http://blog.jilliantamaki.com/2011/02/portrait-of-christina-rossetti-sketch/

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wow. That is true artistry! I wonder if they'll turn the covers into prints so that people (like me!) can actually buy the books with those jackets??

    ReplyDelete
  6. Those are totally gorgeous! I especially love the Emma. Well - they're all great! Thanks so much for sharing that link with us!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow, those are lovely!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks for the link! Penguin Classics are some of my favorite editions, and I love all the nifty covers they're doing nowadays.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks for the link back! I'm happy to share. :) The only thing this news is bad for is my wallet.

    ReplyDelete
  10. PS. RTB, I adore Christina Rossetti. That's a beautiful image.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous11:22 PM

    Wow. She's go skills! Now I want one. She should totally go all the way and do illustrations for all of them =P

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  12. goodness, those are gorgeous!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oh wow! Embroidery *and* books - I think I'm in love!!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I love them! Can't wait to buy them. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan