Skip to main content

Threads of Awesome

I ran across this unspeakably awesome project and I cannot stop admiring it. Illustrator and cartoonist Jillian Tamaki has created a set of stunning Penguin Threads Deluxe Classics book covers. And they are . . . well, click on over and see for yourself. She's got images up of her embroidered covers for The Secret Garden, Emma, and Black Beauty. Genius.

Thanks to Amy at Simple Little Bookworm for the heads up!

Comments

  1. Those covers are lovely!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Anonymous5:26 PM

    I want them in my house.

    ReplyDelete
  3. That is so cool. I want them.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Thanks for the link! Maybe she'll be commissioned to do a Jane Eyre cover *fingers crossed*

    I looked around her sight a bit more, and she has the most lovely portrait of Christina Rossetti. Here's the link: http://blog.jilliantamaki.com/2011/02/portrait-of-christina-rossetti-sketch/

    ReplyDelete
  5. Wow. That is true artistry! I wonder if they'll turn the covers into prints so that people (like me!) can actually buy the books with those jackets??

    ReplyDelete
  6. Those are totally gorgeous! I especially love the Emma. Well - they're all great! Thanks so much for sharing that link with us!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow, those are lovely!

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks for the link! Penguin Classics are some of my favorite editions, and I love all the nifty covers they're doing nowadays.

    ReplyDelete
  9. Thanks for the link back! I'm happy to share. :) The only thing this news is bad for is my wallet.

    ReplyDelete
  10. PS. RTB, I adore Christina Rossetti. That's a beautiful image.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous11:22 PM

    Wow. She's go skills! Now I want one. She should totally go all the way and do illustrations for all of them =P

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
  12. goodness, those are gorgeous!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Oh wow! Embroidery *and* books - I think I'm in love!!

    ReplyDelete
  14. I love them! Can't wait to buy them. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th