Skip to main content

Contemporary Pretties

Apparently, I'm all about the covers lately. But don't these three look great? I've only read one of these authors before, but all three covers (and synopses) have me interested and excited. Quite different in tone, they each represent an upcoming young adult contemporary fiction title currently residing on my list. 

You know how much I loved Donna Freitas' This Gorgeous Game, and I have pretty much been looking forward to the release of this book ever since. I love the juxtaposition of photo and drawing on this cover, as well as the great font and title spacing. When Rose's mother passed away, she left her a brown paper bag "survival kit" to help her daughter get through the loss. As she ponders each item, she moves closer to that goal. Also, there is a gardener/hockey player named Will. Sign me up!
Due out October 11th.

I've not read Ms. Alexander's previous novel--The Sweetheart of Prosper County--but I've read the rave reviews (and love the title) and it is on my TBR. This one has an entirely sexier different look going for it. Paisley Tillery (I know, right?) is a drummer in a rock band in a small Texas town she's dying to break out of. Enter a singer from a town called Paradise and things become . . . complicated.
Due out July 5th.

I'll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan
Can you believe this cover? I just want to hang it on the wall. Shades of the exquisiteness that was the cover of Marcelo in the Real World. This is Ms. Sloan's debut novel, and it follows a boy named Sam and his younger brother Riddle who, after a lifetime of being on the move, meet a girl and her family who welcome them into the normalcy they've always craved. 
Due out May 3rd.

Comments

  1. I hadn't heard of The Survival Kit but it sounds amazing, I will have to check out The Gorgeous Game too.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've seen both The Survival Kit and I'll Be There covers before and I adore them. Nice picks.

    ReplyDelete
  3. These are wonderful covers. They sound interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  4. All of these covers are beautiful.
    I just put The Survival Kit on my to-read list.

    clarkmurdock.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. these all look fabulous and i am especially excited for THE SURVIVAL KIT

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous3:59 PM

    Thanks for the heads up about The Survival Kit. I enjoyed This Gorgeous Game as well.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I picked up I'll Be There this past weekend because of the beautiful cover, and devoured it in two days. It's an amazing book... one of the best I've read in a while. I'm currently trying to get everyone I've ever met to read it!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's