Skip to main content

Contemporary Pretties

Apparently, I'm all about the covers lately. But don't these three look great? I've only read one of these authors before, but all three covers (and synopses) have me interested and excited. Quite different in tone, they each represent an upcoming young adult contemporary fiction title currently residing on my list. 

You know how much I loved Donna Freitas' This Gorgeous Game, and I have pretty much been looking forward to the release of this book ever since. I love the juxtaposition of photo and drawing on this cover, as well as the great font and title spacing. When Rose's mother passed away, she left her a brown paper bag "survival kit" to help her daughter get through the loss. As she ponders each item, she moves closer to that goal. Also, there is a gardener/hockey player named Will. Sign me up!
Due out October 11th.

I've not read Ms. Alexander's previous novel--The Sweetheart of Prosper County--but I've read the rave reviews (and love the title) and it is on my TBR. This one has an entirely sexier different look going for it. Paisley Tillery (I know, right?) is a drummer in a rock band in a small Texas town she's dying to break out of. Enter a singer from a town called Paradise and things become . . . complicated.
Due out July 5th.

I'll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan
Can you believe this cover? I just want to hang it on the wall. Shades of the exquisiteness that was the cover of Marcelo in the Real World. This is Ms. Sloan's debut novel, and it follows a boy named Sam and his younger brother Riddle who, after a lifetime of being on the move, meet a girl and her family who welcome them into the normalcy they've always craved. 
Due out May 3rd.

Comments

  1. I hadn't heard of The Survival Kit but it sounds amazing, I will have to check out The Gorgeous Game too.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I've seen both The Survival Kit and I'll Be There covers before and I adore them. Nice picks.

    ReplyDelete
  3. These are wonderful covers. They sound interesting.

    ReplyDelete
  4. All of these covers are beautiful.
    I just put The Survival Kit on my to-read list.

    clarkmurdock.blogspot.com

    ReplyDelete
  5. these all look fabulous and i am especially excited for THE SURVIVAL KIT

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous3:59 PM

    Thanks for the heads up about The Survival Kit. I enjoyed This Gorgeous Game as well.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I picked up I'll Be There this past weekend because of the beautiful cover, and devoured it in two days. It's an amazing book... one of the best I've read in a while. I'm currently trying to get everyone I've ever met to read it!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan