Skip to main content

Uncertain Pretties


We're looking at the beginning of next year here, but  I had to highlight these pretties I'd seen floating about in the ether lately. I've only read one of these authors before, and I adore her. The others are new to me and come with all the possibility inherent in an unknown quantity wrapped in a pretty package.

This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
Courtney Summers does zombies. If that doesn't make the top of your head blow off, I don't know what will. I cannot wait to read her take on them, especially as her main character is a girl with a death wish. Normally, I'm not a fan of covers where the girl's head is missing or cut off or covered, but what with the zombies and the blood splatter--I'm kind of okay with it.
Due out June.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
Well, I love the cover, you see. And the font. And the title. Even if I do keep saying im-probability in my head. What is up with that? I'm hearing good things about this one, and I can tell I will be in the mood for a romantic meet-in-the-airport-we-only-have-four-minutes kind of happy read come cold January. Set in a 24-hour period, British boy named Oliver, yeah, where do I sign?
Due out January 2nd.

Tempest by Julie Cross
Okay. Truthfully, this cover is a little too reminiscent of the cover of Hush, Hush for my taste. And the font is a bit Twilight-ey. But I'm trying to not let that bad taste in my mouth from previous books get in the way of my enjoyment of others. So. Time traveling dude trying to save his girl's life and escape the Enemies of Time who are out to get him. It's set, well, in several different times (obviously), but it starts out a couple of years ago, and I always like it when authors do that.
Due out January 3rd.

So how about you? Which ones are you up for?

Comments

  1. I'm loking forwad to Tempest! This is the first time I've seen the cover...I can't help but wonder if one would really arch one's back and stick one's arm out like the girl while falling feet down through the air (wonders if it's worth looking at pictures of trapeeze (sp?) artists. decides it's not).

    ReplyDelete
  2. Totally looking forward to This is Not a Test. I loved Courtney Summers' Some Girls Are, so the news of her releasing a zombie novel just made me more excited to read her other novels while waiting. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight sounds really fun. I should get this one for my teen especially considering she is taking AP Stats this year! LOL! haha! Wonder if she can get extra credit from her teacher for reading this ? :P

    ReplyDelete
  4. I am so excited about the first to. Summers can do no wrong!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Charlotte, LOL!

    Tina, I know. SOME GIRLS ARE blew me away. Loved it so much.

    Christine, doesn't it? And I think that's an awesome idea for your girl. What a good mom you are.

    Blueicegal, I agree. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Of course the ulterior motive is that I can read it too. But you know that about me already.. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I hadn't heard of This Is Not A Test and Tempest. The covers are nice, though. I can't wait for The Statistical Probability of Love at Fist Sight.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm with you about the Tempest cover. I was surprised to find out that it wasn't an angel novel at all. i'm excited for The Statiscial Probability...

    ReplyDelete
  9. Ooh, Courtney Summers and zombies? I'm so there.

    ReplyDelete
  10. oh i love the stastistical probability cover too(much more than our Aussie one :/ )

    cannot wait for the courtney summers :D

    ReplyDelete
  11. Dying for Statistical Probability. CANNOT WAIT.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I totally agree... that cover looks WAY like Hush, Hush... and it kinda turned me off, seeing as I didn't love that one.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Christine, *grin* I did know that.

    Jenny, yep. It does look really good.

    Tara, me too! Surprised and relieved actually. Angels are so hard to do well, IMO.

    Holly, right??

    Nomes, ooh, I haven't seen the Aussie one. Must go see...

    Janssen, looks awesome.

    Nicole, neither did I. Actually, I really disliked it. So here's hoping the cover is the only resemblance.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's