Skip to main content

Uncertain Pretties


We're looking at the beginning of next year here, but  I had to highlight these pretties I'd seen floating about in the ether lately. I've only read one of these authors before, and I adore her. The others are new to me and come with all the possibility inherent in an unknown quantity wrapped in a pretty package.

This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers
Courtney Summers does zombies. If that doesn't make the top of your head blow off, I don't know what will. I cannot wait to read her take on them, especially as her main character is a girl with a death wish. Normally, I'm not a fan of covers where the girl's head is missing or cut off or covered, but what with the zombies and the blood splatter--I'm kind of okay with it.
Due out June.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith
Well, I love the cover, you see. And the font. And the title. Even if I do keep saying im-probability in my head. What is up with that? I'm hearing good things about this one, and I can tell I will be in the mood for a romantic meet-in-the-airport-we-only-have-four-minutes kind of happy read come cold January. Set in a 24-hour period, British boy named Oliver, yeah, where do I sign?
Due out January 2nd.

Tempest by Julie Cross
Okay. Truthfully, this cover is a little too reminiscent of the cover of Hush, Hush for my taste. And the font is a bit Twilight-ey. But I'm trying to not let that bad taste in my mouth from previous books get in the way of my enjoyment of others. So. Time traveling dude trying to save his girl's life and escape the Enemies of Time who are out to get him. It's set, well, in several different times (obviously), but it starts out a couple of years ago, and I always like it when authors do that.
Due out January 3rd.

So how about you? Which ones are you up for?

Comments

  1. I'm loking forwad to Tempest! This is the first time I've seen the cover...I can't help but wonder if one would really arch one's back and stick one's arm out like the girl while falling feet down through the air (wonders if it's worth looking at pictures of trapeeze (sp?) artists. decides it's not).

    ReplyDelete
  2. Totally looking forward to This is Not a Test. I loved Courtney Summers' Some Girls Are, so the news of her releasing a zombie novel just made me more excited to read her other novels while waiting. :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight sounds really fun. I should get this one for my teen especially considering she is taking AP Stats this year! LOL! haha! Wonder if she can get extra credit from her teacher for reading this ? :P

    ReplyDelete
  4. I am so excited about the first to. Summers can do no wrong!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Charlotte, LOL!

    Tina, I know. SOME GIRLS ARE blew me away. Loved it so much.

    Christine, doesn't it? And I think that's an awesome idea for your girl. What a good mom you are.

    Blueicegal, I agree. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Of course the ulterior motive is that I can read it too. But you know that about me already.. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  7. I hadn't heard of This Is Not A Test and Tempest. The covers are nice, though. I can't wait for The Statistical Probability of Love at Fist Sight.

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm with you about the Tempest cover. I was surprised to find out that it wasn't an angel novel at all. i'm excited for The Statiscial Probability...

    ReplyDelete
  9. Ooh, Courtney Summers and zombies? I'm so there.

    ReplyDelete
  10. oh i love the stastistical probability cover too(much more than our Aussie one :/ )

    cannot wait for the courtney summers :D

    ReplyDelete
  11. Dying for Statistical Probability. CANNOT WAIT.

    ReplyDelete
  12. I totally agree... that cover looks WAY like Hush, Hush... and it kinda turned me off, seeing as I didn't love that one.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Christine, *grin* I did know that.

    Jenny, yep. It does look really good.

    Tara, me too! Surprised and relieved actually. Angels are so hard to do well, IMO.

    Holly, right??

    Nomes, ooh, I haven't seen the Aussie one. Must go see...

    Janssen, looks awesome.

    Nicole, neither did I. Actually, I really disliked it. So here's hoping the cover is the only resemblance.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan