Skip to main content

Friday Evening Stops


It's still just the first week in January and already all kinds of things are going on around the blogosphere. It's these kinds of things that remind me it's okay that the holidays are over and good things will certainly come this year. Starting with these three:

First off, I wanted to be sure to point out that today is the last day to download Magic Gifts--the free Kate Daniels novella that Ilona Andrews gave as a Christmas gift to the fans. Best idea in the world, if you ask me. I've read it and loved it and you will, too. So scoot on over and download it before it's gone!

Next up, I would be remiss if I didn't direct you to the screamingest Kindle book deal around. Linda Gillard's fabulous Emotional Geology is now available on Kindle for a mere 99 cents! This is my favorite of all of Linda's wonderful books. Previously out of print, you do not want to miss this one. My review here.

Lastly, I'm going to be taking part in an exciting event in just a couple weeks. Chachic's Book Nook is hosting The Queen's Thief Week as a way of celebrating and spreading the word on that wonderful series. I had my own meltdown over its awesomeness almost exactly two years ago now, and the awe has yet to fade. I'll be guest posting (along with several other awesome authors and bloggers), so be sure to check it out then. 

Have a good weekend!

Comments

  1. Anonymous5:45 AM

    Yay, thanks for spreading the word about the Queen's Thief week, Angie! I'm really excited about it and can't wait to see what you guest posters will write. It's just two weeks away! Also, I loved Magic Gifts as well. I think it was a great Christmas gift from Ilona and Gordon. Will spread the word about the Emotional Geology ebook.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow, getting very bummed about all the books that seem to be on the kindle but not the nook. Seriously.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks once again for spreading the word about EMOTIONAL GEOLOGY, Angie. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Angie, thanks for the heads-up about Emotional Geology! Linda kindly mailed a copy of Star Gazing to me, and I just finished it at the end of the year. I need to review it, and then I'm going to dive right into Emotional Geology.

    Also, Chachic's event is a perfect reason for me to finally read Megan Whalen Turner's books! Hooray!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Queen's Thief Week? Oh dear... ;)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I actually searched for Linda Gillard's books on Kindle a while ago, and bought them all based on your reviews. Truly a great deal on Emotional Geology! Still must read them...and Magic Gifts as well. But I like knowing there are lovely books awaiting me.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Just downloaded EMOTIONAL GEOLOGY. Another virtual royalty check should be coming your way. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks for the downloads, people. As an author I owe so much to Angie's blog! :-)

    It proves (if proof were needed) that what sells books isn't clever marketing campaigns or celebrity status but reader enthusiasm.

    Hooray for book blogs and bloggers!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Great links Angie! I just bought EMOTIONAL GEOLOGY -- I've been wanting to pick it up and really, you can't beat $.99!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | The Love Hypothesis by Ali Hazelwood

 Hi. Hey. Hello there. It's been a . . . well, you know what it's been. We're all still living this together. So I will simply skip to the fact that I couldn't not review this book here. Because reading it was something special. I knew nothing about Ali Hazelwood 's debut novel except that it involved women in STEM and that the cover made me smile. I decided to set it aside for myself as a reward. Work has been . . . punishing . . . for the last year, and I have been so exhausted every hour of every day. And so I determined to buy The Love Hypothesis  on release day knowing nothing about it. But when I went to the bookstore to get my copy, none were available. In fact, none were available anywhere for love nor money, in store or online. At first I was moderately disappointed. Then I told myself maybe it's not that great after all and I didn't necessarily need to feel this preemptive sense of loss. But it kept gnawing at me. The loss. And so I paused work an

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's