Skip to main content

Friday Evening Stops


It's still just the first week in January and already all kinds of things are going on around the blogosphere. It's these kinds of things that remind me it's okay that the holidays are over and good things will certainly come this year. Starting with these three:

First off, I wanted to be sure to point out that today is the last day to download Magic Gifts--the free Kate Daniels novella that Ilona Andrews gave as a Christmas gift to the fans. Best idea in the world, if you ask me. I've read it and loved it and you will, too. So scoot on over and download it before it's gone!

Next up, I would be remiss if I didn't direct you to the screamingest Kindle book deal around. Linda Gillard's fabulous Emotional Geology is now available on Kindle for a mere 99 cents! This is my favorite of all of Linda's wonderful books. Previously out of print, you do not want to miss this one. My review here.

Lastly, I'm going to be taking part in an exciting event in just a couple weeks. Chachic's Book Nook is hosting The Queen's Thief Week as a way of celebrating and spreading the word on that wonderful series. I had my own meltdown over its awesomeness almost exactly two years ago now, and the awe has yet to fade. I'll be guest posting (along with several other awesome authors and bloggers), so be sure to check it out then. 

Have a good weekend!

Comments

  1. Anonymous5:45 AM

    Yay, thanks for spreading the word about the Queen's Thief week, Angie! I'm really excited about it and can't wait to see what you guest posters will write. It's just two weeks away! Also, I loved Magic Gifts as well. I think it was a great Christmas gift from Ilona and Gordon. Will spread the word about the Emotional Geology ebook.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Wow, getting very bummed about all the books that seem to be on the kindle but not the nook. Seriously.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Thanks once again for spreading the word about EMOTIONAL GEOLOGY, Angie. :-)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Angie, thanks for the heads-up about Emotional Geology! Linda kindly mailed a copy of Star Gazing to me, and I just finished it at the end of the year. I need to review it, and then I'm going to dive right into Emotional Geology.

    Also, Chachic's event is a perfect reason for me to finally read Megan Whalen Turner's books! Hooray!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Queen's Thief Week? Oh dear... ;)

    ReplyDelete
  6. I actually searched for Linda Gillard's books on Kindle a while ago, and bought them all based on your reviews. Truly a great deal on Emotional Geology! Still must read them...and Magic Gifts as well. But I like knowing there are lovely books awaiting me.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Just downloaded EMOTIONAL GEOLOGY. Another virtual royalty check should be coming your way. :)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Thanks for the downloads, people. As an author I owe so much to Angie's blog! :-)

    It proves (if proof were needed) that what sells books isn't clever marketing campaigns or celebrity status but reader enthusiasm.

    Hooray for book blogs and bloggers!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Great links Angie! I just bought EMOTIONAL GEOLOGY -- I've been wanting to pick it up and really, you can't beat $.99!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …