Skip to main content

Gunmetal Magic Cover

I don't know about you guys, but I'm kind of bouncing on my chair right now. Ilona Andrews has revealed the cover for Gunmetal Magic--the upcoming novel in the Kate Daniels world featuring Andrea! Andrea (and Raphael) kind of rock, so the fact that she gets her own book is splendiferous in the extreme. Coverwise, I love how Andrea looks. She's got the take no prisoners/I'm the small package good things come in attitude down pat. And I always love when we get a little magic-frayed Atlanta in the background. Gunmetal Magic is due out July 31st, and I simply won't be happy until it's in my hands.

Comments

  1. I love it! I'm just finishing up Magic Burns now, and have been loving Andrea, so I'm excited to see she's getting her own book. I should be all caught up by the time it releases too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Heidi, you are?! I'm so jealous you get to read MAGIC STRIKES next for the first time. I simply cannot recommend that one highly enough.

      And I am so excited for Andrea's book. I love that this series features two such strong female characters. So often the protag's BFF is the opposite of her in every way. But in this case, they're both tough as nails, while maintaining their own distinct personalities and stories. Love it.

      Delete
    2. Yes! Requested Magic Strikes from the library as soon as I finished Magic Burns last night! Everyone seems to think that's when the series gets completely awesome, so I'm really looking forward to it. I am loving the delayed gratification with this series. All of the books have been good, but I like that the characters and relationships are unfolding so slowly because they have the time. And I totally agree about two strong chicks! They each have their own strengths, but they're both strong.

      Delete
    3. Delayed gratification=WIN!

      Delete
  2. I'm excited for the book but I'm not the biggest fan of the cover, especially the face looks a bit weird and too photoshopped.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sabrina, the face thing is interesting. I feel like Kate's face has evolved a fair bit over the course of those covers. My favorite is the Kate on MAGIC STRIKES. I am looking forward to Andrea's perspective on Kate/Curran and supernatural Atlanta.

      Delete
  3. Oh, I hadn't realized the release date was fast approaching for this one--thanks for the heads up! Andrea looks pretty badass on this cover. Can't wait. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Wendy, I know! So glad it's not far off on the horizon.

      Delete
  4. I am woefully ignorant of the Kate Daniels world. Apparently I need to get up to speed. *apologizes*

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Jessica, lol, no apology needed. I merely point you in the direction of one MAGIC BITES. Run don't walk. Urban fantasy of the finest kind.

      Delete
  5. OOOOOOOhhhh. Pretty! I don't know how I missed catching this one, but I cannot wait! Andrea getting a book and getting to act all tough and ready with a gun fills me with all sorts of glee. Yipee!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Michelle, glee is the precise emotion. Cannot wait.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan