Skip to main content

Scarlet Cover

Despite being underwhelmed by Cinder's ending (or utter lack thereof), I am interested to see where Marissa Meyer goes with Scarlet--the next installment in the Lunar Chronicles. It's hard for me to stay away from some good young adult scifi. Pair that with a fairy tale retelling (this time Little Red Riding Hood), and I'm gonna be picking up that book. I mean, the character of Wolf is a street fighter. How cool is that?! This cover is also sort of delightful. I love how it matches the cover of Cinder, and I love the font, swirling cape, smoke, etc. The skinny arm is creeping me out a little bit, but all in all I'm excited to read this sequel. Scarlet is due out February 5th.

Comments

  1. I'm not really a fan of this cover. The cloak looks nice, but I want more of the girl. Just a rippling cloak is sort of blah.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Livi, interesting. I tend to shy away from the people themselves depicted on covers and I am usually in favor of illustration over photos. But I can see how just the cape could be underwhelming. People were pretty divided over the CINDER cover as well.

      Delete
  2. I actually really like covers that don't feature full on characters (I prefer my own imagination thank you), so I was really excited to see this one. I agree about the ending of Cinder, though I really liked the book as a whole and am very excited for the rest of the series--particularly since I love Little Red Riding Hood! I'm just going into this one expecting the same type of ending, knowing there are two more books coming.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Heidi, me too. I really liked Meyer's writing, so that bodes well for another book. What I've read about SCARLET sounds awesome! I think this will be my first Red Riding Hood retelling, actually.

      Delete
  3. I really like the cover; it's so different from the usual closeup or the headless girls! And the cape makes it easy to recognize the inspiration. I really need to catch up and read Cinder!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Kay, yes exactly. And I agree about the inspiration. Love how they've selected one key item to represent the fairy tale with the shoe and then the cape. Makes me happy. :)

      Delete
  4. I'm excited, regardless of the cover, for Scarlet. Cinder knocked my socks off.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Miss Remmers, that's great to hear. I'm excited myself!

      Delete
  5. I'm slightly underwhelmed by the cover (for a moment I thought the red cape was red flowing hair and then "Oh, how very little mermaid!") but it's what on the inside that counts. It does go well with CINDER's cover though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sandy, yep. That's what we always need to remember.

      I do love a matched set, though . . . lol.

      Delete
  6. I absolutely love the cover! I like how Cinder and Scarlet both have a pop of red as well.

    Cinder was absolutely amazing... I can't wait until next February!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Krystianna, yeah. I'm a sucker for a pop of red. Really looking forward to a good Red Riding Hood novelization.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan