Skip to main content

Three-Part (Literary) Harmony

My birthday occurred last week and it was a lovely one, filled with sleeping in, unexpected flowers and jelly beans, Boston-style pizza, and cake made to order. But it started off in the wee hours with the best part. Just after midnight, DH asked me if I wanted to open the first part of my present. "How many parts are there?" I asked curiously. "Three," he replied. After some thought, I agreed and he brought out a promising package, just the right size and shape to fill my heart with anticipation. I quickly unwrapped it and slid it out of its protective clear, plastic slipcase. Beauty. The one I'd been wanting. For ages.

"It's a signed, first edition," he said.

They all were, as it turned out. 
And I opened one later that day. And one the following day. Two Robin McKinleys and a Mary Stewart (Signed! I'd never even seen one of those before.) The boy knows me well, doesn't he?

I also received a stack of shiny, new pretties from my parents (Beauty and The Hero and the Crown already stuck in there with their new shelfmates).
And to top it off, my perspicacious mother-in-law joined the excellently-themed birthday with much-needed new shelves to put the gifts on (I'm particularly fond of that corner one):
So as you can see, it was sort of perfect. As my dad has said for years, "We do birthdays well."

Comments

  1. Wow. Yes, your family does do birthdays well. They win at birthdays. WIN.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Happy belated birthday. And might I say I am very envious of those presents! I agree that your family knows how to party!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Lin! It's low-key partying, but it's quality. ;)

      Delete
  3. Happy late birthday! Those are awesome presents. (Robin McKinley! Mary Stewart!)

    ReplyDelete
  4. Happy Belated Birdthday!

    Those shelves are gorgeous and those gifts are perfect! I hope this year brings you all the joy in the world. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Amy. I really appreciate those good wishes.

      Delete
  5. NICE PRESENTS!!! the bookshelves are beautiful, and so are the books!

    I wish my own birthday were further away from Christmas--I would love book presents in August!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's true, I've always loved having an August birthday. My boy has an early-ish December one and I've always felt bad.

      Delete
  6. Happy birthday! You have an awesome family who know just the kinds of gifts to give you. McKinley! Stewart! First editions! Signed! Cool corner bookshelves! It sounds like a wonderful birthday, perfect for any booklover.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They are awesome. I'm a lucky duck.

      Delete
  7. Oh wow. Happy (belated) birthday! What fantastic presents.

    ReplyDelete
  8. Glad you had a wonderful birthday! I am incredibly jealous of your first-edition signed Beauty. Beauty's my favorite Robin McKinley story and my favorite Beauty and the Beast retelling of all time.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Beauty is incomparable. I always return to it.

      Delete
  9. That sounds like a perfect birthday!

    ReplyDelete
  10. Happy Birthday! I got chills reading your post, so I can't even imagine what your reaction was. I just read Gabriel Hounds this summer for the first time. Every time I read a new Mary Stewart book I wonder why I hadn't read it sooner and I get more determined to find another. Speaking of Mary Stewart books, every time I read one I feel like I'm channeling my Dad and your Mom and I picture them as kids reading them. The book shelves are beautiful; I'm glad you had a nice day. love ya!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Did you really? The Gabriel Hounds is one that's grown on me with each rereading. The first time I was like, this is nuts! In a good way. But nuts! But each time, I've loved it more. One of my favorite first lines of hers. But then she just excels at first lines. I love them all. So which ones haven't you read yet? Hmmm? :)

      Delete
    2. I, of course, love and adore the merlin trilogy (um even though there are 4 books??? maybe 5???....all I know is that I own the triolgy and read the 4th), Anyway, I've also read the Ivy Tree, Nine Coaches Waiting, and now the Gabriel Hounds. After talking to your mom this summer I think Madam Will You Talk is on deck....what next? I don't know what it is about Mary Stewart books, because they don't have to move fast in order to keep my attention like most books that are written today and they don't have steamy love scenes, but they are in and of themselves perfect and classic. I always feel like it's been time well spent after reading a Mary Stewart book.

      Delete
    3. Of course. ;)

      Definitely proceed to Madam, Will You Talk. And after that I highly recommend you read This Rough Magic. You will NOT be disappointed. I think your assessment is spot on. They're just perfect. The writing is so good, she can kind of do whatever she wants at whatever speed she wants and I just sit back and eat it up.

      Delete
  11. Happy Belated Birthday.

    What lovely gifts. Glad you had such a lovely day.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Alexa. I felt the love for sure.

      Delete
  12. Oh your hubby's a keeper alright. Happy Birthday!!

    ReplyDelete
  13. Yep, your family does birthdays really, really well. Signed first editions! I wonder where he was able to unearth those? And I love the pretty shelves - it looks good beside the shelves with cameras on display.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I have no idea. I'm kind of afraid to ask about the details . . . lol.

      The camera shelves are his, obvs. I think they go well together. :)

      Delete
  14. Aaron is so awesome.

    ReplyDelete
  15. I love your presents! I also like the photo above the piano!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, thanks Laura! It's a painting my husband got me a couple Christmases ago and I love it, too.

      Delete
  16. I realize I'm so very behind here, but belated Happy Birthday, Angie!! Your husband ROCKS and certainly knows you, not to mention your parents and mother in law. So many lovelies (and yeah, I swooned a little at the signed first edition thing).

    Also I ADORE the painting you have hanging over your piano.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. There's something about first editions, isn't there? Particularly of books decades or more old. I swoon.

      The painting makes me happy each time I go in the room. :)

      Delete
  17. Ooooh, a signed Mary Stewart book! I'm very jealous! I've never even seen one. Gabriel Hounds isn't my favorite of hers, but my "least favorite" Stewart is still better than most books out there in the world. ;)

    I just read my first Robin McKinley books this week -- started with The Blue Sword and Beauty -- they're so good!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know! I couldn't believe it was real. And I wholeheartedly agree. My least favorite Stewart is head and shoulders above most other books!

      Jennie, I'm delighted you've delved into McKinley. She never lets me down. What good choices you made, too.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan