Skip to main content

Retold Pretties

It's time to look ahead to the pretties coming out this year. You all know my penchant for fairy tales retold. Having recently come off the high of Marissa Meyer's Scarlet, I find myself eager to dive into a few more upcoming retellings. As luck would have it, there are several on the horizon. Here are three that look especially nice. Which one catches your fancy?

Strands of Bronze and Gold by Jane Nickerson
I have been waiting for a solid Bluebeard retelling for some time now. In fact, if you've read a good one, do let me know. This one has the look of one I'm gonna enjoy. Girl moves to a manor house in the deep south to live with her mysterious guardian. The usual terror ensues. My fingers are crossed.
Due out March 12th

Of Beast and Beauty by Stacey Jay
I enjoyed the liberties Ms. Jay took with the well-worn Romeo & Juliet tale. So I am perfectly willing to give her a chance with my beloved Beauty & the Beast. This one involves a blind princess, a desert monster, and a prisoner who steals a rose. Let's do this thing.
Due out July 23rd

Towering by Alex Flinn
The latest from a fairy tale afficionado. I enjoyed Ms. Flinn's Beastly very much, though I haven't read the rest of her retellings. This one, as far as I can tell, is a modern Rapunzel. I have yet to read that particular combo (though I am certainly looking forward to Meyer's take in Cress). But since that one is so far away, I think I'll start here.
Due out May 14th

Comments

  1. I am insanely in love with the Towering cover and the title of the Bluebeard retelling. I mean, GORGE! And I have a confession: I will read anything BatB related, though I like Jay's work anyway, so it was definitely happening.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I will, too. I cannot resist the potential of a new BatB retelling. What's your favorite of Jay's work?

      Delete
  2. I love the cover of Strands of Bronze & Gold. It looks ethereal and mysterious. I'm going to be reading my ARC of it soon and am really looking forward to it. I hadn't heard of the beauty and the beast retelling but that's definitely going on my to-read list for sure!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooh, you already have one. Definitely looking forward to your thoughts!

      Delete
  3. Oh, MUST HAVE Of Beast and Beauty. *adds to wishlist*. Beauty and the Beast retellings are my Kryptonite.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I hereby publicly damn you as I add these to my wish list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I dangle pretties because I love, Laura.

      Delete
  5. The first two look like books I'll need to find...
    I can't say I enjoyed Flinn's Beastly, so I probably won't go for that third pick, but I have to say that I'm so glad we're still seeing new fairy tale retellings. Love those.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Isn't it reassuring? I worry sometimes they'll all go away and new ones won't come down the pipeline. I'm happy to be wrong.

      Delete
  6. Ah, so many fabulous retellings are coming out this year (fairy tale and otherwise). I love the covers for these too! I think I'll definitely have to refresh myself on the Bluebeard tale before I read Strands.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, that one's more obscure but with so much potential . . .

      Delete
  7. Anonymous2:07 PM

    Holy wow, "pretties" is an understatement. Also, I had to look up the story of "Bluebeard"—sounds. AWESOME! And I agree with Diana, the title is fantastic. Guess I have three more books for my TBR list? SIGH. :)

    Also, happy (belated) new year!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Doesn't it?! I really have been waiting for a good one. It deserves it.

      Happy New Year, Anna!

      Delete
  8. Oh gosh--all three go right on my wish list!

    ReplyDelete
  9. I am definitely eager for Strands of Bronze and Gold.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, that one's just calling my name.

      Delete
  10. I love, love, love retellings too! Fairy tales, folklore, myths and more! I'm always on the lookout for new ones. I am eagerly awaiting Strands of Bronze and Gold. I am not a fan of Alex Flinn or Beastly, so I'm not sure about Towering. But Of Beast and Beauty looks interesting (and it's my favorite fairy tale)!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hear, hear. It's my favorite as well. Which B&B retellings are your favorite?

      Delete
  11. I have all of these three retellings on my wishlist as well, Angie, and I too hope they will be as excellent as Cinder was.

    I have a couple of books more on my 2013 wishlist that are retellings:
    Namless by Lili St. Crow(Snow White)

    Stung by Bethany Wiggins(Sleeping Beauty) - This one I have to say sounds like it has the potential of being an awesome read.

    Happy New Year by the way :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Awesome, Mari. STUNG recently came across my radar and I am very much looking forward to it. What a great premise. And thanks for the heads up on NAMELESS!

      Delete
  12. Anonymous10:44 AM

    I'm a huge fan of fairytale retellings myself! I am very excited for all three. And I can't wait to read Scarlet!!!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, you will not be disappointed in SCARLET. I just loved it.

      Delete
  13. Oohm, adding Strands of Bronze and Gold to the TBR. It sounds lovely.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Doesn't it? I'm digging the look of it.

      Delete
  14. I haven't read any Alex Flinn yet myself, and I really ought to. I think I'm having that 'oh she's popular so she can't possibly be good' reaction which is a bit of a silly reason not to try something. The other two I'm VERY excited about. PLEASE let this be a solid Bluebeard retelling--it has so much potential! I too, loved what Jay did with R&J, so my hopes are high for B&tB.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I thought there were some interesting things going on in BEASTLY. I know a lot of people didn't like it, but I liked the ways in which she played around with the fairy tale. It was also, at times, dead funny.

      Delete
  15. I read "Cinder" over the Christmas break and I'm looking forward to "Scarlet". Thanks for the great suggestions!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Nice timing, Chrissy! It'll be out soon. Be sure to let me know what you think when you do read it. I just smile whenever I think about it.

      Delete
  16. Have you read The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter? It's a bunch of short stories inspired by fairy tales. Very interesting read! Her adaptation of Little Red Riding Hood is one of my favorites and I think other adaptations are always lacking. That is probably my favorite fairy tale.

    Also, one of the stores was adapted into a film called In the Company of Wolves.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Emilia, I have not. I've sort of flirted with reading it for awhile now, but never actually followed through. I'm really happy to get your recommendation for it now. Particularly the LRR story. I adore really well done retellings of that one.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan