Skip to main content

Golden Pretties

Come on! How am I supposed to sit around and ignore these upcoming releases when they feature such pretty, pretty covers? You've likely seen them floating around before, but they go so well together I had to throw out a mention. I like to think their dust jackets will be thick and matte, with that slightl pebbly feel to them that makes my bibliophilic heart sing. Well done, Bloomsbury and Allison & Busby cover peeps. I mean, really. Well done.

Conjured by Sarah Beth Durst
Okay. A supernatural librarian in the witness protection program. A magical serial killer on the loose. I feel fairly confident I can just stop there. Yes? But, oh dear, all the pins in that heart . . .
Due out September 3rd.

Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth
This one's got all sorts of potential. A retelling of the Rapunzel fairy tale told (partially) from the perspective of a woman at the court of Louis XIV. I ask you. Need I go on? The early word from across the pond (and Oz) is very good.
Currently available in Australia and the UK (I know); no word yet on a U.S. pub date.

Comments

  1. Wow, these both sound amazing! NO U.S. release dates yet? :(

    The Bitter Greens cover reminds me of The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate, a really lovely middle grade book from a few years back. I always like silhouette covers, though.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Not for Bitter Greens, unfortunately. Conjured will be out here in September.

      I agree! I thought of the Calpurnia Tate cover as well. And the one for Unspoken. Silhouette covers are so classy.

      Delete
  2. I saw Sarah Beth Durst's cover at her blog. Love it! And Wendy Darling is spot on! I totally thought of that book too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You, too? :) There's a definite resemblance.

      Love the Conjured cover, too. I need to read it. I read and enjoyed her ICE, but that's about it.

      Delete
  3. I'm really excited for both of these, especially Conjured since Vessel was one of my absolute favorite books last year. I'm not a huge fan of the Conjured cover, actually, it's a little too Mexican Catholic for my tastes, but I love the Bitter Greens cover--the Aussie cover is gorgeous as well.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. *sigh* I need to read VESSEL. I've read ICE by Durst and it's my favorite retelling of East of the Sun, West of the Moon. But that's about all I've read of hers. I tried ENCHANTED IVY and didn't finish it.

      That's funny you point out the Catholic thing. That never occurred to me until you said it. It will be interesting to see what tone the book itself takes.

      I saw the Aussie cover for Bitter Greens and like it, but I am a sucker for silhouettes, I think. :)

      Delete
  4. Supernatural librarian? Sign me up!

    I'm so lucky that Mandee sent me a copy of Bitter Greens. I just started reading it and I already love that one of the main characters is a woman in her 40s(!) who bemoans the effect being sent to the convent will have on her sex life(!!).

    -Maggie

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I was so in as soon as I read that tidbit.

      I am jealous, Maggie. You are reading it Right Now! That character sounds awesome, btw. When will it find its way to me??

      Delete
  5. These both sound so darn appealing! I've got to stop adding to my TBR pile so far in advance. Hopefully we'll get Bitter Greens soon!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know it's early days for these. But I'm really crossing my fingers Bitter Greens makes it over, preferably with that same cover!

      Delete
  6. I love the cover of Bitter Greens, I'll definitely need to look out for that one. I like the sound of Conjured, but the cover kind of freaks me out, I'd need to cover it up at night!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol. I somehow missed the menacing aspect of it until now. Now I can't see anything else!

      Delete
  7. Both beautiful covers, I agree. Surprising to find a book out in Australia but not the US!

    Rinelle Grey

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The Aussies are in some kind of YA golden age right now! They have crazy good stuff coming out right and left. If only it were published simultaneously here...

      Delete
  8. Not going to be able to wait until the US release of Bitter Greens. Totally going to try to find it elsewhere!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I know. Grrr. Time to navigate the back channels.

      Delete
  9. Wow, these both sound amazing!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They kind of do. Fingers crossed they come through.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…