Skip to main content

Roguish Pretties

I've written about my love for Jennifer Roberson's Robin Hood retellings before. But imagine my delight when I saw they were being reissued this summer with these lovely new covers. These two companion novels have had a good variety of covers, from a sort of old school fairy tale historical to super romancey bare chestedness. All in the interest of attracting people from different reading backgrounds who might read and love these books. But I am kind of digging these new ones, as I think they have the potential to appeal to the widest spectrum of readers. I know I'll be snagging copies as soon as they're released on May 28th and June 25th respectively. They'll be just perfect for the re-read I feel coming on.

Comments

  1. Oh, I like these covers. I have the old fairy tale type covers and have always disliked the bare chest ones. . These new ones are nice and simple and look great together.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Those are the ones I have as well. And I love them because they are my originals. But I do have high hopes for these new covers attracting new readers.

      The bare chest ones completely misrepresent them, IMO.

      Delete
    2. Agreed. The romance is very nice, but there is so much more to the story.

      Delete
  2. I've had these on my Amazon Waitlist for a few months now! I never read Lady of Sherwood (at least I don't think I have), but Lady of the Forest is fantastic. Definitely one of my favorite Robin Hood retellings. I also like these covers and plan on buying them upon release. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Have you? Lady of the Forest really is wonderful, isn't it?

      Glad I'm not the only one who buys up multiple copies without a second thought!

      Delete
  3. Subtle, but pretty. I haven't read these, might have to look them up.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, yes. Definitely look them up. :)

      Delete
  4. How pretty! I love the cursive font used for the title. I've always wanted to read these, as I'm still on the lookout for that Robin Hood retelling that is just for me. Straight to the birthday wishlist they go!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So do I. I'm delighted with the repackaging. Can't wait to hold them in my hands. :)

      Delete
  5. I'm curious what the original ones looked like. I must track them down on Goodreads, I think!

    Kristin@Blood,Sweat and Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! Let me know which cover is your favorite. I linked to two examples in the paragraph above.

      Delete
  6. Anonymous8:14 AM

    Oh they got reprinted, that's good news! I have a used copy of Lady of the Forest but it's a huge hardcover that's hard to carry around, which is why I haven't read it yet. I hope they come out with ebook editions for these too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm always happy when older beloved books get reprinted. Ebook editions would be superb.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Bibliocrack Review | Don't You Forget About Me by Mhairi McFarlane

There's really very little to say, isn't there? I hope you are well, wherever you are. I hope that your loved ones are. I hope that you're finding small ways to stay afloat, to remain connected to something, someone, someplace (real or fictional) that sustains you. Dark and difficult times, indeed. I've rather been holding on to this review. I felt so much, so quickly, so irrevocably for this book that it rapidly became hard to talk about to anyone who hadn't read it. And so I hope I can do it justice, just barely enough justice that, if you haven't, you'll run right out and do so. Now is the perfect time. I feel strongly that this book is what you need in your life at this moment. And so. You might want to prepare yourselves. I'm about to wax rhapsodic. But first, and introductory excerpt: At the end of that session, Fay said, What if it's not what happened with this boy you regret, it's you? It's the  you  who you left behind. It's

Review | If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane

It's been years since I picked up a Mhairi McFarlane novel, and I'm not really sure why that is. I liked  It's Not Me, It's You well enough (it's obvious she's quite a witty writer), but something about the execution felt off and I think I let that keep me from diving deeper into her backlist. Then came an offer to review her upcoming title If I Never Met You , and something about this one seemed to call out to me. As though it was time. As though Laurie and Jamie might be the ones. Spoiler alert: It was and they were. It was the perfect read for a couple of dreary, grey January days. While not perhaps as bubbly as I've Got Your Number , I would definitely recommend it to readers who enjoyed that novel. They share a business setting, two individuals who are more than they know themselves to be, and a wonderfully slow burn romance. Readers who love Sarra Manning and  Beth O'Leary 's  The Flatshare should also take note. Comedy was tragedy plus

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan