Skip to main content

Roguish Pretties

I've written about my love for Jennifer Roberson's Robin Hood retellings before. But imagine my delight when I saw they were being reissued this summer with these lovely new covers. These two companion novels have had a good variety of covers, from a sort of old school fairy tale historical to super romancey bare chestedness. All in the interest of attracting people from different reading backgrounds who might read and love these books. But I am kind of digging these new ones, as I think they have the potential to appeal to the widest spectrum of readers. I know I'll be snagging copies as soon as they're released on May 28th and June 25th respectively. They'll be just perfect for the re-read I feel coming on.

Comments

  1. Oh, I like these covers. I have the old fairy tale type covers and have always disliked the bare chest ones. . These new ones are nice and simple and look great together.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Those are the ones I have as well. And I love them because they are my originals. But I do have high hopes for these new covers attracting new readers.

      The bare chest ones completely misrepresent them, IMO.

      Delete
    2. Agreed. The romance is very nice, but there is so much more to the story.

      Delete
  2. I've had these on my Amazon Waitlist for a few months now! I never read Lady of Sherwood (at least I don't think I have), but Lady of the Forest is fantastic. Definitely one of my favorite Robin Hood retellings. I also like these covers and plan on buying them upon release. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Have you? Lady of the Forest really is wonderful, isn't it?

      Glad I'm not the only one who buys up multiple copies without a second thought!

      Delete
  3. Subtle, but pretty. I haven't read these, might have to look them up.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, yes. Definitely look them up. :)

      Delete
  4. How pretty! I love the cursive font used for the title. I've always wanted to read these, as I'm still on the lookout for that Robin Hood retelling that is just for me. Straight to the birthday wishlist they go!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. So do I. I'm delighted with the repackaging. Can't wait to hold them in my hands. :)

      Delete
  5. I'm curious what the original ones looked like. I must track them down on Goodreads, I think!

    Kristin@Blood,Sweat and Books

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes! Let me know which cover is your favorite. I linked to two examples in the paragraph above.

      Delete
  6. Anonymous8:14 AM

    Oh they got reprinted, that's good news! I have a used copy of Lady of the Forest but it's a huge hardcover that's hard to carry around, which is why I haven't read it yet. I hope they come out with ebook editions for these too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm always happy when older beloved books get reprinted. Ebook editions would be superb.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…