Skip to main content

First Pretties

It's the first Pretties post of the year! This one may be my favorite, because no matter which covers it features, they represent all my hopes for the year. All the possibilities, including new authors that might become old favorites and old favorites that surprise you in new ways. This time we've got two contemporaries and a historical. One wholly unexpected sequel. All YA.

Bright Before Sunrise by Tiffany Schmidt
This one's got a little of the Jennifer E. Smith This is What Happy Looks Like vibe going on. And while that one did not thrill me, this one has me interested. Opposites attract. Set in a 24 hour period. Something about it leads me to believe it might be solid. It might be the line, "He feels like the doggy bag from his mother's first marriage." Ha!
Due out February 18th

Poppy by Mary Hooper
I've read one of Hooper's previous historicals and really appreciated the writing. This one is set in England on the cusp of World War I and follows a young girl forced by circumstances into servitude. Sounds like there's a love story and I'm betting it's gonna have a tragic end, but I kind of want to meet this Poppy.
Due out May 8th

Just Call My Name by Holly Goldberg Sloan
Okay, seriously. Which one of you out there knew Holly Goldberg Sloan was writing a sequel to I'll Be There and did not tell me?! I love that book so much and my heart about stopped when I saw there would be a follow-up. That said, I AM FULL OF FEAR. Please don't hurt my beloved Sam and Emily and Riddle. Please.
Dut out August 5th

Comments

  1. They are ALL now on my TBR list, although I still need to read I'll be There, don't know why I haven't yet as I am sure I will love it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh, you do! It's . . . well. Lovely.

      Delete
  2. Love all of these covers! All are going on my TBR list, especially the first book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me, too. That's such a cute cover, isn't it? I like.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan