Skip to main content

Fairy Tale Pretties


I'm in the mood for a new fairy tale (or three). I realize your natural reaction is: Angie, when in the world are you not in the mood for new fairy tales and/or retellings? And the answer is: pretty much never. But. With the exception of Cruel Beauty and Tiger Lily (but even that's been more than a year ago), I haven't really fallen in love for awhile. Time to change that.

Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen
I recently became aware of this title and immediately knew I'd be giving it a go. Peter Pan from Captain Hook's perspective, this Hook is cursed to forever engage in pointless warfare with Pan. Until one day a grown woman finds her way to Neverland and, in that simple defiance, provides a light at the end of the tunnel. I . . . have a good feeling about this.
Due out July 8th

Stray by Elissa Sussman
So this one gives me the tingles not just for it's shivery cover (I love it, love it, love it), but because the main character is a Fairy Godmother. And not by choice. She is also under a curse and is require to be chaste and can't control her magic and, well, all of it adds up to I will be reading this book.
Due out October 7th

Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis
Sci-fi Snow White. Sounds like she's a bit of a coder/mechanic who's gone missing from her home planet and encounters a young man in need of her help. Obvious Lunar Chronicles comparisons will undoubtedly abound, but I look forward to a fresh voice in the genre. The author's website boasts a "Geeky-chic books for teen" tag that made me smile.
Due out October 14th

Comments

  1. Did you like Cruel Beauty? I have it on my iPad, but I haven't started into it yet. Also, the covers on these are lovely!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm always on the lookout for fairy tale retellings too! And I haven't come across any good ones lately. My most recent was also Cruel Beauty. Thanks for the heads up on these titles, I'll add them to my wishlist.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I know you are! And you're welcome. Hope they're as good as they look.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm looking forward to Alias Hook, and hand't heard about Stitching Snow. Sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Agreed. I'm a sucker for a good Peter Pan revisioning.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Those all look lovely. I'm especially looking forward to Stray. Have you seen this art on Etsy? I thought it was the same image as the cover art on that cover, but it's just SLIGHTLY different....

    https://www.etsy.com/listing/62388144/the-queen-8x12-inch-print-fantasy-art?ref=favs_view_5

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow. I hadn't seen it. That's awesome. Wonder if GreenWillow licensed (and tweaked) it for the cover?

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm curious as well, though I don't have any answers for you. (Sorry!) They seem too similar to be a coincidence though.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan