Skip to main content

Fairy Tale Pretties


I'm in the mood for a new fairy tale (or three). I realize your natural reaction is: Angie, when in the world are you not in the mood for new fairy tales and/or retellings? And the answer is: pretty much never. But. With the exception of Cruel Beauty and Tiger Lily (but even that's been more than a year ago), I haven't really fallen in love for awhile. Time to change that.

Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen
I recently became aware of this title and immediately knew I'd be giving it a go. Peter Pan from Captain Hook's perspective, this Hook is cursed to forever engage in pointless warfare with Pan. Until one day a grown woman finds her way to Neverland and, in that simple defiance, provides a light at the end of the tunnel. I . . . have a good feeling about this.
Due out July 8th

Stray by Elissa Sussman
So this one gives me the tingles not just for it's shivery cover (I love it, love it, love it), but because the main character is a Fairy Godmother. And not by choice. She is also under a curse and is require to be chaste and can't control her magic and, well, all of it adds up to I will be reading this book.
Due out October 7th

Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis
Sci-fi Snow White. Sounds like she's a bit of a coder/mechanic who's gone missing from her home planet and encounters a young man in need of her help. Obvious Lunar Chronicles comparisons will undoubtedly abound, but I look forward to a fresh voice in the genre. The author's website boasts a "Geeky-chic books for teen" tag that made me smile.
Due out October 14th

Comments

  1. Did you like Cruel Beauty? I have it on my iPad, but I haven't started into it yet. Also, the covers on these are lovely!

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm always on the lookout for fairy tale retellings too! And I haven't come across any good ones lately. My most recent was also Cruel Beauty. Thanks for the heads up on these titles, I'll add them to my wishlist.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I know you are! And you're welcome. Hope they're as good as they look.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm looking forward to Alias Hook, and hand't heard about Stitching Snow. Sounds great!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Agreed. I'm a sucker for a good Peter Pan revisioning.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Those all look lovely. I'm especially looking forward to Stray. Have you seen this art on Etsy? I thought it was the same image as the cover art on that cover, but it's just SLIGHTLY different....

    https://www.etsy.com/listing/62388144/the-queen-8x12-inch-print-fantasy-art?ref=favs_view_5

    ReplyDelete
  7. Wow. I hadn't seen it. That's awesome. Wonder if GreenWillow licensed (and tweaked) it for the cover?

    ReplyDelete
  8. I'm curious as well, though I don't have any answers for you. (Sorry!) They seem too similar to be a coincidence though.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan