Skip to main content

Angie's Best Books of 2017

Somehow it's New Year's Eve again, and here we are. I don't especially feel like getting into what this bloody year was like and how I thought it couldn't get worse than last year, but then 2017 came and was all . . . ahem. Well, you know the rest. 

Suffice it to say, I feel like my favorite reads of the year reflect what I needed and what all you wonderful writers and readers had and needed to give. Just ten titles this year, you guys. A literal Top Ten, which I don't believe I've ever actually achieved. It is the last day of the year, and I present you with one highly distilled list of impeccable reads.

Photo by @aamith
(in the order in which I read them)


FYI, that's 5 fantasies, 3 contemporaries, 2 historicals. Fantasy for the win this year!

Best New Discovery of 2017

I didn't sleep a single wink the night I read this book. McKelle George's writing is exquisite. By the 100-page mark, I was beside myself in love with these characters. The caliber of writing and the emotional weight in this novel echo that of Megan Whalen Turner and Robin McKinley, they are that superb. The kind of fizzy joy I feel inside at finding this debut novel and marveling at all the wonderful things that are to come is the very best kind of joy. 

Biggest Character Crush of 2017
Rhys
http://merwild.tumblr.com
I fell in love with the High Lord of the Night Court at his very first appearance, though I admit I didn't know then what a highlight of my reading year he would be a part of. Rhys, who is not at all what he seems. Who is the reason the Inner Circle exists. Who refuses to let Feyre wither and die. I didn't see him coming, and I love him all the more for it.  

Book I Reread the Most in 2017
Unraveled by Courtney Milan

What can I say? Sometimes a girl just needs some Smite Turner in her life. And some wonderful Miranda Darling. This year's rereads may have been prompted by my delightful pilgrimage to The Ripped Bodice during our trip to L.A. There, I picked up my second edition of Unraveled. And so, of course, I had to read that copy, even though I had already reread the book once earlier in the year. Something about the dark and winding streets of Bristol and the quiet color and light Miranda infuses Smite's life with just gives me hope. Together, they are a jumble of contradictions and uneven lengths. But she is always right. He has an efficient heart. 

Best Books I Read in 2017 That Were Published in a Different Year


The Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer
The Morning Gift by Eva Ibbotson

Happy New Year!

Comments

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Art of Theft by Sherry Thomas

Today marks the release of The Art of Theft―the fourth installment in Sherry Thomas's superb Lady Sherlock series. I'm delighted to be participating in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of Berkley. My emotions regarding this gender-swapped Sherlock Holmes retelling are tangled and fathoms-deep. These characters are incredibly dear to me, and I return to each book so very happy to see them and to read the breathtaking empathy with which Sherry Thomas writes about the realities of the lives of Victorian women and the truths that are so difficult to speak. Fans of Deanna Raybourn and Anna Lee Huber should definitely search out this series if you've not yet made its acquaintance. 

ABOUT THE BOOK
Charlotte finds herself in the midst of an all-new debacle: how does a renowned detective, a super-sneaky sleuth, steal a piece of artwork? The crime-solver has uncovered missing persons, and even nabbed a murderer or two—but when an old friend of Mrs. Watson appears on her doorste…

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…