Skip to main content

Angie's Best Books of 2017

Somehow it's New Year's Eve again, and here we are. I don't especially feel like getting into what this bloody year was like and how I thought it couldn't get worse than last year, but then 2017 came and was all . . . ahem. Well, you know the rest. 

Suffice it to say, I feel like my favorite reads of the year reflect what I needed and what all you wonderful writers and readers had and needed to give. Just ten titles this year, you guys. A literal Top Ten, which I don't believe I've ever actually achieved. It is the last day of the year, and I present you with one highly distilled list of impeccable reads.

Photo by @aamith
(in the order in which I read them)


FYI, that's 5 fantasies, 3 contemporaries, 2 historicals. Fantasy for the win this year!

Best New Discovery of 2017

I didn't sleep a single wink the night I read this book. McKelle George's writing is exquisite. By the 100-page mark, I was beside myself in love with these characters. The caliber of writing and the emotional weight in this novel echo that of Megan Whalen Turner and Robin McKinley, they are that superb. The kind of fizzy joy I feel inside at finding this debut novel and marveling at all the wonderful things that are to come is the very best kind of joy. 

Biggest Character Crush of 2017
Rhys
http://merwild.tumblr.com
I fell in love with the High Lord of the Night Court at his very first appearance, though I admit I didn't know then what a highlight of my reading year he would be a part of. Rhys, who is not at all what he seems. Who is the reason the Inner Circle exists. Who refuses to let Feyre wither and die. I didn't see him coming, and I love him all the more for it.  

Book I Reread the Most in 2017
Unraveled by Courtney Milan

What can I say? Sometimes a girl just needs some Smite Turner in her life. And some wonderful Miranda Darling. This year's rereads may have been prompted by my delightful pilgrimage to The Ripped Bodice during our trip to L.A. There, I picked up my second edition of Unraveled. And so, of course, I had to read that copy, even though I had already reread the book once earlier in the year. Something about the dark and winding streets of Bristol and the quiet color and light Miranda infuses Smite's life with just gives me hope. Together, they are a jumble of contradictions and uneven lengths. But she is always right. He has an efficient heart. 

Best Books I Read in 2017 That Were Published in a Different Year


The Convenient Marriage by Georgette Heyer
The Morning Gift by Eva Ibbotson

Happy New Year!

Comments

You Might Also Like

Review | To Sir Phillip, With Love by Julia Quinn

The first book to make it onto my best books I've read so far this year list was actually a surprise. Thanks to Bridgerton's massive success, Julia Quinn's name is everywhere these days. And I'm chuffed about the whole thing. That said, my Quinn reading up to this point has been sporadic at best. And I'd only read two novels in the actual Bridgerton series. So I decided to rectify that at the beginning of the year by starting with Eloise's story (the fifth in the series) because she is my uncontested favorite of the siblings. I had no idea what her story held, but I knew she would be a compelling lead. I also love the title and the role that letters play in the story.   Eloise Bridgerton is tired of everything. She is tired of the endless inane whirl of life among the ton. She is tired of being paraded around and forced to dance and converse with all the wrong men. But most of all she is tired of being suddenly and unexpectedly alone after her best friend Penelo

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan