Skip to main content

Mercy Thompson Movie?


Now I hestitate to get my hopes up too high, but I couldn't not note that 50 Canon Entertainment has just optioned the film rights to Patricia Briggs' Mercy Thompson series! Press release found here. Now...who could play Adam?

Comments

  1. I read about this, but in the article I came across they called Mercy a vampire slayer, which was weird.

    Anyway, I gifted your blog with an award. :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. Yeah, I saw that "vampire slayer" term. Um, not exactly.

    An award?!? Why thank you!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I don't think there exists an actor worthy of playing Adam! But I suppose we'd have to settle for someone . . . Hugh Jackman?

    ReplyDelete
  4. Yep, I think he'd work just fine. Hmm...

    ReplyDelete
  5. Anonymous11:03 PM

    I think Christian Bale would make a perfect Adam. He's beautiful, hot, and very intense.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anon, good call. Why did I never think of him? Christian Bale would make a perfect Adam!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Anonymous2:24 PM

    Gerard butler= Adam

    ReplyDelete
  8. Wow, another good one! I had not considered Butler. *imagines*

    ReplyDelete
  9. Anonymous7:38 PM

    One thing you have to rememeber is that in the books Mercy describes Adam being from the 50's and looks around his early or late twenties.
    Hugh Jackman I think that he's a lil but too old for the part and wouldnt really be... adam-y. lol.
    Gerard Butler has a scottish accent. That would be... wierd. lol. (I do not mean any disrespect. They're all REALLY good looking guys.)
    I personally think that (BE NICE PLZ) Ryan reynolds could MAYBE pullit off. If you catch him in a movie where he's serious, he seems kind of intense.

    ReplyDelete
  10. Anon, this is true. Jackman is getting old for the part for sure. And he should definitely NOT have a Scottish accent (as much as I love them).

    I have recently become a fan of Ryan Reynolds and so if they dyed his hair darker, I think I can see it. I always picture Adam darker. This may be my favorite suggestion so far!

    ReplyDelete
  11. Anonymous6:56 AM

    I know right? Darker as in skin darker? Or Hair Darker? If you want skin AND hair than maybe we should look at a personal favorite of mine

    Jon Kortajarena.

    Sure, he's a model. BUT alot of models get acting deals right? He has slightly darker skin and darker hair. Plus... HE'S FREAKIN HOT! LOL.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Anonymous2:54 PM

    what about James Caviezel for Adam? has the dark coloring and amazing bone structure

    ReplyDelete
  13. How about Ian Somerhalder, he's a cutie. Who could play Mercy is the question.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Anonymous10:21 AM

    look up Julia Jones. gorgeous. she's also playing leah clearwater in "Twilight: Eclipse"

    ReplyDelete
  15. Anonymous9:55 AM

    I agree with whoever made this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hdiI30BYzz4 James MacAvoy for Bran is perfect.

    ReplyDelete
  16. does anyone know who the model is for dos santos' work for Mercy Thompson?

    ReplyDelete
  17. Anonymous5:01 PM

    Eric Bana=Adam.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Anonymous6:21 PM

    mercy thomas should be played by rosario dawson james mccavoy for bran would be perfect..

    ReplyDelete
  19. Anonymous2:45 PM

    I think Julia Jones is a great choice on Mercy and found a hottie model who would make a very cute Adam(Model: Luis De La Torre). What ya think?

    ReplyDelete
  20. Kristina4:14 PM

    I listed 2 actors for each of the main characters. If this becomes a movie *fingers crossed*, the casting director will have their work cut out for them!

    Mercy - Michelle Rodriguez/Julia Jones
    Adam - Jonathan Rhys Meyers/Henry Cavill
    Jesse - Dakota Fanning/Sasha Pieterse
    Stefan - Zachary Quinto/Joshua Jackson
    Sam - Bradley Cooper/Mark Wahlberg
    Bran - Freddie Prinze Jr./Sean Faris
    Zee - Ben Kingsley/Patrick Stewart
    Darryl - Sam Horrigan/Bronson Pelletier
    Warren - Kellan Lutz/Chris Pine
    Ben - Ryan Reynolds/Ryan Gosling
    Kyle - Cam Gigandet/Wentworth Miller

    ReplyDelete
  21. The model for the book covers is a part time bartender at the artist's local bar. He liked her looks for Mercy, and added the extra tattoos (his model has none).

    ReplyDelete
  22. Anonymous1:33 PM

    Adam- Paul Walker

    ReplyDelete
  23. Anonymous12:11 PM

    Chris pine would make a better Bran, he has that young adult look and has dominant qualities about him

    besides freddie prince junior is OLD.
    and sean faris is tan, isnt bran welsh?

    ReplyDelete
  24. Anonymous12:59 AM

    Josh Hartnet should play Adam! I think he would make a great Adamn.

    ReplyDelete
  25. Anonymous12:24 AM

    I love the idea of Eric Bana being Adam because Adam is supposed to have dark coloring, but the wolves are supposed to appear like they're in their late 20's so he might be too old to play Adam

    ReplyDelete
  26. Anonymous10:43 AM

    I know your all talking about the Mercy Thompson movie but your only thinking about Adam, your not thinking about Sammuel. If you do not remember in the books starting from the beggining it also talks about Mercy and Sammuel having a thing, then there is also when mercy went back to Aspen Creek and talked with Charles and the Marrok. there is also the other members of Adam's and the Marrok's pack that you haven't taken into account, if the movie is going to be a top notch you can't just think about 1 character and who is going to play it. You need to think of all the members and how they will co-exist together in the movie, to have a great movie you need an awesome cast not just 1-2 people.

    ReplyDelete
  27. Brittani10:43 PM

    Paul Walker has always been who I've imagined as Adam.

    ReplyDelete
  28. Anonymous8:13 PM

    All I hope for is that Mercy is played by an actual native american (latino is not even close)! I mean really what's the point of making movies in america if your going to cast white people as middle eastern (Hidalgo)?! Also hopfully not someone with a supermodel's face, someone with muscles and rough hands, you know someone that looks like a mechanic.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Anonymous1:26 AM

      Yes a native American I couldn't agree more

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th