Skip to main content

A Fresh Coat of Paint

I'm waist deep in spring cleaning here at Angieville and just wanted to take a moment and give a shout out to my sweetheart of a brother-in-law for the new banner, which he hand painted in a fit of spontaneous awesomeness. Clearly, he's a kindred spirit. We love a good story. Yes, we do.

Comments

  1. Holy .....guacamole.

    I LOVE the new layout. Very pretty! : D

    ReplyDelete
  2. Ooh, so pretty!

    Hey. Where's Poe? ;-)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Anonymous5:48 AM

    Looks great! Terrific banner.

    Laura J

    ReplyDelete
  4. Wow, that is GORGEOUS. Well done to your brother-in-law!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Oh, wow!!! Your sweetheart of a brother-in-law is incredibly talented. That is one beautiful painting... he captured the essence of the stories you love perfectly. I'll be visiting more often just so I can admire it. :)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Anonymous8:27 AM

    That is beautiful! Gosh, I can't stop staring at it!

    ReplyDelete
  7. Look how pretty it is!

    That is talent--serious kudos to the artist.

    ReplyDelete
  8. The banner is gorgeous, and the site looks great!

    ReplyDelete
  9. That banner is magnificent! (And I love the new pic of you, too.) Now I need to go out and find me a talented brother-in-law. :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Love it love it. He is talented isn't he.

    ReplyDelete
  11. That is an incredibly clever (and pretty!) banner. Very very nice.

    ReplyDelete
  12. What everyone else said! Beautiful new look :) Me likey.

    ReplyDelete
  13. Wow, that is awesome!

    ReplyDelete
  14. Thanks guys! He totally took me by surprise with it, too. Better than anything I was envisioning, that's for sure.

    Diana, sigh. Poe is the only thing it lacks.

    Christine, he did, didn't he? Must go bake him some cookies.

    Chelle, DH convinced me to change the pic on the grounds that the old one was "a bit on the creepy side." I believe those were his words. Glad you like the new, less-creepy version of me. ;)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Oh, I liked the old one just fine. It was quite artsy and dramatic, not at all creepy. I can tell you one thing: If I took pictures nearly as well as you do, I'd actually have one on my own blog.(And that? So not gonna happen.)

    ReplyDelete
  16. That is fantastic.

    ReplyDelete
  17. Love your new look! You have some talented folks in your family!

    ReplyDelete
  18. Wow. Just wow. Love it!

    ReplyDelete
  19. I like the new layout, your header is so creative & pretty!

    ReplyDelete
  20. Beautiful job! Just beautiful :)

    ReplyDelete
  21. What a lovely job he did Angie! Fabulous new look too. :)

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th