Skip to main content

Silent Blade by Ilona Andrews

I have been going through another bout of Kate & Curran withdrawals lately. Really, they're simply Ilona Andrews withdrawals because I just am ten different ways in love with the way they write a world. I know going in to expect to be amazed, delighted, and--above all and thank the high heavens--entertained. Whether its shapeshifters and magic waves, overlapping dimensions and backwoods feuds, or futuristic assassins and genetically enhanced mafiosi--it is guaranteed to get my bibliophilic heart pumping and I can't tell you how much I look forward to each encounter. This is a good year because we get two full-length novels in two excellent worlds and, having already downed Magic Bleeds, I found myself looking ahead longingly to September and the release of Bayou Moon. And then it occurred to me that I'd never gotten around to reading Silent Blade, the novella published last year from Samhain. I'm not sure how it slipped past me, but I immediately purchased it, downloaded it to my nook, and dropped offline for the evening.


 Meli Galdes is ready for retirement. Having served her family for more than a decade as a lone assassin, she's planning on hanging up her spurs and falling off the grid completely. Then her father calls in one more favor and it involves a man Meli thought she'd never see again. Celino Carvanna is responsible for the life of danger and isolation Meli leads. Years ago their lives were intertwined and then, in the space of a heartbeat, the connection was severed and Celino went on to monumental success and power, while Meli walked away from everything and everyone she ever knew, shaping herself into an elite (and secret) weapon. Now, on the cusp of retirement, she's asked to take on this one last job. For her family. One last hit to round out her career on a high and oh-so-satisfying note. Then she'll be able to put it all behind her and see about creating another kind of life for herself. But it's been a long time since she knew what made this ruthless businessman tick, an even longer time since she cared. Neither of them are who they once were. And so she sets about remembering every detail, pulling up every familiar quirk and distant memory, so that when she finally comes face to face with Celino once more, she will be ready. She won't hesitate. She'll know just what to do. And, as is the case with all her targets, he won't even know what hit him. 


I don't think I realized going in that this novella was science fiction. What a pleasant surprise that was! Set in a futuristic society, in which a cadre of powerful families--known as the Kinsmen--rule a world built upon the basis of their particular biological enhancements, Silent Blade pelts out of the starting gate with gusto. Meli is established right of the bat as a woman who has honed her skills and is the best at what she does. She flies solo and completely under the radar and I loved her from page one. As her history becomes clearer, I found myself utterly on her side and very much in favor of her meting out whatever punishment necessary on the heartless Celino. What can I say? I'm always up for a vengeance quest, especially when the person on the hunt is so justified and awesome and, well, adept when it comes to the actual punishing. Then the point of view switched, and I was forced to walk a few paces in Celino's shoes. And while I was still on Meli's side, I admit it--I was curious. Curious to see how he'd react when all was revealed. Curious to see if Meli's resolve went the distance. I loved the wild swirl of color and scent and taste running through this world. Meli loves each of these things and, while she's voluntarily put them aside in the service of her family, there are hints of them here and there, even in the ascetic existence she embodies. This is romantic science fiction a la Linnea Sinclair and Ann Aguirre and, though it is a shorter work and wraps up nicely, I would happily read much larger and longer doses were they available. Meli is very much her own woman and I really think there's plenty of fodder here for many more stories. Perhaps one day we'll get them. In the meantime, if you're an Andrews fan, I highly recommend Silent Blade. You won't be disappointed.


Linkage
Danielle's Book Thoughts Review
Janicu's Book Blog Review
Karissa's Reading Review
Leontine's Book Realm Review
Leslie's Psyche Review
Musings of a Bibliophile Review
The Raving Readers Review

Comments

  1. Glad you liked this one. I thought that the families in this world were very interesting, and I liked how family = corporations/the mob.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I just downloaded this one to my nook the other day as well. Thanks for this review - it just pushed Silent Blade up close to the top of my tbr pile :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. I should've reviewed this one ages ago. Thanks for reminding me.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Oooh, you have a nook! How are you finding it? I'm very tempted by the new Kindle myself.

    Back on topic, I read once on their blog (I think), that with Silent Blade, they were going with a Harlequin type of writing style, whereas with The Edge books, those were more in the historical romance style (paraphrasing horribly here), which I found rather interesting.

    I think they also said sales for this novella were tiny compared to their mass market releases (probably - obviously? - due to the publisher, so I'll be curious to see if they do a sequel. I would love one though.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I didn't even know they had a novella! I don't have an e-reader but I will probably buy this and read it on the computer. Just like you, I'm experiencing withdrawal symptoms from Kate and Curran. I feel like I'm living off the snippets that they post on their blog. I should read this and On the Edge soon just to get a taste of the incredible writing of Ilona Andrews.

    By the way, how is the Nook? I'm tempted to get the cheaper version of the Kindle once it comes out. I hope it's available internationally though.

    ReplyDelete
  6. Why have I never heard of this? Must get it soon. I'm glad September is so close, though. I'm really looking forward to more of The Edge.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I haven't read any of the Andrews titles yet, even though you give such positive reviews for these books. But I did download the free sample to my nook for this one. I'll give it a shot. :)

    You know, with all of these nook related comments, you may find yourself having to write an entry on the nook itself . . .

    (Now I understand, btw, why you didn't hate me when I bought one!)

    ReplyDelete
  8. Janice, definitely. They always do right by us on the worldbuilding. Everything, really. :)

    Jen, ooh, I'm glad. I'd love to talk with more people who've read it.

    Liv, my pleasure. What did you think of it?

    Li, so here's the thing. My dad is a big gadget man. He cannot resist the toys. And so he ordered a nook right when they came out, but he lives overseas and it didn't work. He couldn't download books there, etc. So he sent it to me a couple months ago and I've had it sitting on my desk looking pretty, but never really given it a go. I decided to jump in with SILENT BLADE and see how things went. I like it so far! Must read something longer on it to see how I fare long term.

    And I would really love a sequel as well. :)

    Chachic, ooh, you gotta read ON THE EDGE before BAYOU MOON comes out. I'm so excited for that. And I like the nook. It was a gift or I wouldn't have one. Like I said, I need to read a full-length novel on it to see how I enjoy that. It's hard for me to substitute clicks for the turning of pages. I struggle losing the tactile experience.

    Holly, you must. It's a lovely interlude in between Kate and Edge worlds.

    Nan, lol. There's a thought. And I don't judge anyone for their reading vehicles. ;) I really can see all the positives and I'm trying to throw myself into the experience so I can appreciate them. But I will go ahead and harp again saying you simply have to read the Kate books. This world is very different from that one. More romantic, less violent. But I really think you'd love Kate. And Curran. Of course. *coughherockscough*

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan