Skip to main content

Tell Me What to Read: Round 5


Wow. Already to the fifth round of Tell Me What to Read! Last month's was awfully good. So what's a great read for the hot month of August? Tell me what book I should read this month. It can be any genre, any age level, and have been published last week or three hundred years ago. You can pick it because it's a book that everyone should read or because it changed your life or because it is great literature or just because it entertained you. My friends Janssen and Emily are also running this monthly feature on their blogs. Janssen started it all! So be sure to stop in and vote for their selections as well. This month, in fact, Emily will be reading Daughter of the Forest on my recommendation. Here's hoping it goes down well!


Here's how it goes:
  1. Comment with the title and author of one book you think I should read (any book you want). One title only, please, lest my brain explode.
  2. I'll select one comment at random.
  3. On the off-chance that I've already read the book you select, I'll contact you and ask for a follow-up suggestion (make sure there is a way to contact you either by blog or email).
  4. I'll get a copy of the book and read it by the end of the month (or so....).
  5. I'll write a review of it here. Even if I hate the book, I will not hate you.
And. . .go!

Comments

  1. Freak Magnet by Andrew Auseon.

    I have already convinced Ana over at The Book Smugglers to read this one, so we both know my persuasion skillz are strong.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Tiffany M.12:29 PM

    Your Retro Fridays have me thinking about The Ordinary Princess by M.M. Kaye. I really enjoyed this story. ^^ Short and sweet.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I loved How It Ends by Laura Wiess

    ReplyDelete
  4. Asleep by Banana Yoshimoto - it is actually three short stories but I like her writing though it is translated from Japanese by Michael Emmerich.

    I would recommand Goodbye Tsugumi if you rather read a novel - though that is short read

    ReplyDelete
  5. Yet another plug for Lois McMaster Bujold's THE WARRIOR'S APPRENTICE...

    I'm in the middle of a re-read now and very much heading in the direction of a full series re-read!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

    ReplyDelete
  7. Since I reviewed the third in the series today and loved it like it was my precious, how about the first book in Seanan McGuire's October Daye series:

    Rosemary and Rue

    ReplyDelete
  8. Life as We Knew it by Susan Beth Pfeffer. Very awesome, very short.

    ReplyDelete
  9. The Keeper of the Bee's by Gene Stratton Porter. One of my favorites :)

    ReplyDelete
  10. Shipwreck at the Bottom of the World by Jennifer Armstrong.

    ReplyDelete
  11. Just finished Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi and I loved it. Pretty good stuff.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Maryn7:03 PM

    Once again, I'm plugging The Amulet of Samarkand by Jonathan Stroud. You won't be sorry. :)

    ReplyDelete
  13. I don't know if I should keep suggesting the books that I mentioned in the other rounds until they get chosen or if I should come up with a new one, LOL. I'll go with a new one this time. I know you love the Mercy Thompson series by Patricia Briggs but I'm not sure if you've given her epic fantasy books a try. I'd love to know what you think of them, starting with the first Hurog book Dragon Bones.

    ReplyDelete
  14. A Girl Named Disaster, by Nancy Farmer.

    I'll keep putting this title up until it wins. :)

    ReplyDelete
  15. I'd be interested to hear your thoughts on The Girl of the Limberlost by Gene Sratton Porton. You've probably already read this one, but on the off chance you haven't it's lovely. And retro!

    ReplyDelete
  16. Anonymous1:39 AM

    This time I recommend a chick lit, "If Andy Warhol had a girlfriend" by Alison Pace, it's well written, smart, and it has a slant of something

    ReplyDelete
  17. I was going to say "Unwind", but I think you've already read that one.
    What about something light, have you tried the Jane Jameson series by Molly Harper? "Nice Girls Don't Have Fangs" is the first.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Anonymous6:08 AM

    Velocity by Kristin McCloy. Beautiful and sexy.

    KarenS

    ReplyDelete
  19. Anonymous8:40 AM

    This is my first time on your blog and I have to say that I'm very, very impressed. I'm a graduate student in an MFA program and I love to read YA novels. You have a fantastic site here, and though I'm sure you've already read it, I'll suggest "A Great and Terrible Beauty" by Libba Bray.

    You've given me some inspiration for my next post, so thanks alot :) I'm looking forward to reading your review.

    ReplyDelete
  20. Hmm. First thing that popped into my mind is North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley. I splurged on that a few months ago, and it ended up being one of my favorite reads this year. :)

    ReplyDelete
  21. Lauren Jean9:49 AM

    "The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society." I think you'll love it.

    ReplyDelete
  22. OK. I'm going to offer my recommendation of the last couple months again. Maybe I'll get lucky. However, I'm starting to worry that I'm talking this book up too much, and I would hate to have your expectations higher than they should be because I really do have a weak spot for Jasper Fforde. I just think he's so darn creative and funny.

    So here it is (again):

    Jasper Fforde's The Eyre Affair

    ReplyDelete
  23. Ooh! I'm so glad that 'Unwind' got plugged, even though you've read it, because I LOVE it! Uh, my recommend is 'The Amaranth Enchantment' by Julie Berry. It's a neat little fairytale-esque tale.......or you should try 'The Book of Lost Days' by John Connolly. Similarly amazing.

    ReplyDelete
  24. Madapple by Christine Meldrum

    ReplyDelete
  25. Everlost (and especially its sequel, Everwild) by Neal Shusterman, because it is poignant and thought-provoking and suspenseful and captivating, because it has intricate characters and an exciting plot and a breathtakingly fascinating world, because it is full of delightful and shocking twists and wonders abound.

    ReplyDelete
  26. Only picking one is hard, but I certainly don't want to be responsible for your brain exploding so I guess I'll pick the same book I did last time - Transformation by Carol Berg.

    ReplyDelete
  27. Anonymous9:35 PM

    BELLWETHER by Connie Willis. My copy is well worn from countless rereads. It's science fiction-ish (according to the tags on Amazon: science fiction - 21, chaos theory - 6, awesome - 1): there's science, and there are thing that happen in relation to/because of science, but really it's all about the characters. And chaos theory. And fairy tales. And sheep. And love. And Barbie.

    It's smart and sweet and charming, and one of my very favorite comfort books.

    ReplyDelete
  28. If you haven't already decided I'll make a plug for 'Dance Night' by Dawn Powell.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th