Skip to main content

Rippling Pretties

Something about these covers makes me instantly fond of the girls they feature. Their hair rippling away on the wind, their stances both hesitant and purposeful. I like them. I think they're likely strong, and perhaps a bit mercurial. I think I shall endeavor to make their acquaintance.

Mistwalker by Saundra Mitchell
I'll admit, I haven't read anything by Saundra Mitchell despite many resounding reviews in her favor. I'm not sure what's kept me from picking her up, but this one might be the one to do it. Set in small-town Maine and featuring a haunted lighthouse and a spirit who collects souls, it sounds like lovely, lovely reading and it is officially on my list.
Due out February 4th

Black Spring by Alison Croggon
This one is (shockingly) already out, but that cover has been under my skin for awhile now. I read the first couple entries in Ms. Croggon's Books of Pellinor series and enjoyed the writing well enough. This time she turns her hand to retelling Wuthering Heights. And while I may not be up for that level of tragedy just yet, it remains on my radar, perhaps for October when I am feeling misty and moorless.
Out now

Comments

  1. Both covers are quite fetching.
    I've read the Books of Pellinor, but I'm not familiar with Saundra Mitchell's work. There's something appealing about a haunted ighthouse though. I'll have to look for this book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I thought the same thing, Lin. The lighthouse hooked me.

      Delete
  2. MISTWALKER is a lovely book, rich and immersive and smart and atypical in all the best ways. I'm excited to hear what others think of it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ooh. I'm so pleased to hear it has your stamp of approval! Very much looking forward to it.

      Delete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan

Bibliocrack Review | Call Down the Hawk by Maggie Stiefvater

I haven't wanted to talk about this. With  anyone.  But I think I probably need to. That like Georgina, I need to use my words to break the curse. I think that like Sam, I need to believe in my cure. So I'm going to talk about it here, and maybe you can help. Since pandemic type things got real in my neck of the woods, I haven't been able to read. I haven't been able to  reread . This has (and I am not exaggerating) never happened to me before  in my life.  I know it happens frequently to most everyone. And I have certainly always been a mood reader. It's not in any way uncommon for me to drift from book to book, from shelf to shelf in my library, until I land upon the right thing. But that drifting tends to occur over the course of a few hours. Not ever does it occur over the course of a few days or, God forbid, weeks.  I feel like I'm losing my mind. And, yes, I am fully aware of where this problem likely rates on the triviality scale in the current scheme of

Bibliocrack Review | Wayward Son by Rainbow Rowell

Since I thought I'd start with the two most egregious reviewing gaps, you get Wayward Son next. I hope this is agreeable to all and sundry. And let's just agree not to pull any punches, shall we? I'll start by admitting that this book wrecked my life. To be clear, I am not complaining. It's just that it had been a long time, yeah? A long time since  Carry On came out. Just such a very long time since I'd been in the company of these two. And their crew. And I thought I was ready. Don't I always? Must remember to learn from past mistakes. But more than that, I wasn't thinking about the fact that of course Rainbow Rowell would create nothing less than the sequel that would naturally follow the events at the end of Carry On. Which is to say a sequel that would hurt . Because everything about what happened to Simon Snow from the beginning of his life to his graduation from Watford was designed to damage. With the shining exceptions of Penny and Baz. And so th