Skip to main content

Cress Cover

Today, USA Today revealed the cover of Marissa Meyer's third novel Cress. The third installment in the Lunar Chronicles series, this one follows the mysterious girl we met near the end of Cinder and is (as expected) a retelling of Rapunzel. I have become a bigger fan of Meyer's scifi retellings with each entry. Given my unreserved love for Scarlet, I am fairly champing at the bit to get my hands on Cress. A computer hacker trapped in an orbiting satellite? Brilliant. Coverwise, I really do love the whole theme Feiwel & Friends has going on with this series. While Cinder's cover remains my favorite (nothing beats a cyborg leg in a red slipper), I get a little thrill from each one. Which cover is your favorite?

Comments

  1. Admittedly biased, I love the Scarlet cover something fierce. This one is eye-catching, absolutely. But seeing it now? When the book's release is still so far off? Tormenting.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Ugh, I know. Sorry about that . . .

      Delete
  2. Very cool cover. So far I love this series - I can't wait for this latest! Hmm, favorite cover - hard choice!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me, too! SCARLET is my favorite book in the series, but that slipper gets me every time as far as covers go.

      Delete
  3. Cinder is my favorite too because of the shoe but I love the hair on Cress (after adoring Tangled's twisted retelling) and am super excited for this new installment.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Agreed. The hair is great. And I love the incorporation of the red in each one.

      Delete
  4. Wow. Great cover. Marissa must be jumping for joy at the series covers.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Right?! The cover gods have smiled upon her.

      Delete
  5. Oh wow, I LOVE this!!! Could be my favourite of the three (I love Rapunzel, no idea why really, just do!), though I love Cinder too. I still haven't read Scarlet yet - have it, just haven't got around to it yet.

    (um, any chance you could remove Captcha from your comment function? It drives me insane!)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You haven't?!! Shannon. Get thee to SCARLET. It's my favorite!

      Ugh. I'm so sorry about the Captcha. I get spam like crazy and so felt forced to have it on. Any suggestions for a workaround?

      Delete
    2. That's a bummer. I don't really know what's available on Blogger but one option is to not allow anonymous comments - others have said that's the only way that works, until Blogger gets its act together. But I can understand that it's really handy for people who don't have an online presence but still want to leave comments and interact, so I guess I'll just deal! ;)

      Delete
  6. It's a tough call between Scarlet's cover and this one, but I think I like this one a teensy bit more.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah. Both great. I love her cape in Scarlet. And the hair in this one . . . :) I can't wait to really meet Cress.

      Delete
  7. oooh so excited to discover your blog today. we read the exact same books.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

In the Beginning, or the First Ten Books I Reviewed on the Blog

Top Ten Tuesday is a bookish feature hosted at That Artsy Reader Girl
It's been awhile, but this topic was too good to pass up. When I thought about it, I genuinely could not recall which were the first ten books I actually reviewed here on the blog. So then, of course, I had to know. The thing is, I originally started the whole thing simply posting a once a month list of my favorite reads and rereads of the month. That went on for some time until lo and behold I went ahead and wrote and posted my first review on November 9, 2007. In hindsight, I probably should have known exactly which book pushed me over the edge into full fledged reviews. So this was a rather delightful journey back in time. Do you remember the first book you ever reviewed (in any forum) or what made you take the plunge? Here are my first ten (and I have to say, looking at this snapshot from the past, these remain some of my absolute favorite authors and a pretty spot-on array of the genres I read and love tod…

Review | The Flatshare by Beth O'Leary

All it took was hearing the basic bones of the premise of Beth O'Leary's debut novel The Flatsharefor me to determine I would absolutely be reading it as soon as I possibly could. I was so delighted to be granted access to an advanced reading copy by Flatiron Books. Even better, it became apparent from the moment I read the first few lines that this reading experience would take place in one headlong rush. No significant breaks allowed, let alone required. The Flatshare was published first in the UK and then slightly later here in the U.S. I dithered over which cover to buy as both have much to recommend them, but I finally decided on the U.S. cover (pictured here). I just love the two of them standing on either side of the same door, the tiny heart between the title and author name.

Tiffy is in a massive, massive bind. Out on her ear after breaking up with her exceptionally controlling boyfriend, she needs an inexpensive place to live and she needs it yesterday. Despite her …

Blog Tour Giveaway | The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae by Stephanie Butland

Today marks the release of Stephanie Butland's brand new novel The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae. I'm pleased to be taking part in the blog tour with a giveaway courtesy of St. Martin's Press. Earlier this year (on Beth's recommendation), I read Ms. Butland's thoughtful and quirky Lost for Words, and I immediately began looking forward to her next book. As you know, I read quite a lot of speculative and historical fiction. But I've had a streak of success with contemporaries this year, and Lost for Words was certainly one of them. If you are a fan of Jenny Colgan or Sophie Kinsella, I suggest you do yourself a favor and check these books out.



ABOUT THE BOOK
For fans of Josie Silver's One Day in December, The Curious Heart of Ailsa Rae is a wholly original, charismatic, and uplifting novel that no reader will soon forget. Ailsa Rae is learning how to live. She’s only a few months past the heart transplant that—just in time—saved her life. Now, finally, she can b…