Skip to main content

Angie's Best Books of 2015

I'm amazed that it's actually that time again. The last day of the year. I have my annual list of favorite books of the year. Twenty-three this year, guys. Three more than last year, a couple less than the year before. We seem to be holding steady right around 20 stellar reads a year, which thing maketh me exceedingly happy.


(in the order in which I read them)

Act Like It by Lucy Parker

FYI, that's 13 contemporaries, 6 historicals, 3 fantasies, and 1 urban fantasy. So, essentially contemporaries are still on the rise, historicals are up, urban fantasies are down, and straight fantasy is holding steady.

Best New Discovery of 2015

Ellie Marney came roaring onto the YA scene with her spectacularly entertaining contemporary teen Sherlock Holmes trilogy. They've been taking their time making their way over to the U.S. from Australia, and I may have ordered more than one from Oz bookshops because I am just that impatient a reader. But they're worth it and then some. Favorite new discovery of the year, hands down.

Biggest Character Crush of 2015
Kaz Brekker
kevinwada.tumblr.com

Like Kaz himself, I don't need a reason. I have a couple or hundred, of course. But I don't need any. This thief, you guys. This particular thief. This close-lipped, leather-gloved, cane-wielding dark genius. He's going to be the death of me in next year's sequel to Six of Crows. I can feel it.

Book I Reread the Most in 2015

It only came out this year, and I still managed to fit in three reads since. Palmer appears to outdo herself with each book she writes. I'm a little agog at what she'll produce next. But it wouldn't matter what it was, because Anna Wyatt (and Lincoln Mallory . . . I mean) are clearly going to last me a long time.

Best Books I Read in 2015 that were Published in a Different Year



Happy New Year!

Comments

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan