Skip to main content

Best Books of 2014

It's New Year's Eve and, as always, I have a list of my favorite books of 2014. Twenty titles this year, my friends. Five less than last year and five more than the year before. And that sounds about right to me when I reflect on the sort of reading year it was. Which is to say generous. And beloved.

Best of 2014
(in the order in which I read them)


FYI, that's 10 contemporaries (hmm), 4 urban fantasies, 3 historicals, and 3 fantasies. Three of the 20 are novellas. And it's worth noting that three authors appear twice on the list. Kudos to Maggie Stiefvater, Laura Florand, and Rosamund Hodge for such tireless excellence.

Best New Discovery of 2014
Rosamund Hodge

She has written two books, a novel and a novella, and I loved them both. Her characters are vicious and vibrant, and I want to kiss and kill (but not be) them all at the same time. Her mythology/fairy tale mashups are note perfect, and I have her upcoming take on Little Red Riding Hood queued up in my TBR as we speak. So much to look forward to.

Biggest Character Crush of 2014
Ronan Lynch

The second Raven Boy to achieve this distinction. I . . . do not feel the need to justify my crush at this point in time. Or ever, really. I may, as Gansey fears, at one point fall and cut myself on Ronan. But nothing will ever make me fall out of love with him. All I want is him safe at the Barns. With Adam. Do you hear me, Maggie? That is all I want. So mote it be.

Book I Reread the Most in 2014
Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell 

Pretty sure I clocked in at three rereads this year. One of those was aloud to my husband while on a cross country road trip, which was particularly lovely. But each time was just as witty and charming and heartfelt as the first time. Just anything she writes. You know?

Best Books I Read in 2014, Which Were Published in a Different Year

Rooftoppers by Katherine Rundell

Happy New Year!

Comments

  1. I need to finish the Raven Cycle! I also want to read Landline,

    ReplyDelete
  2. Eleanor & Park! Yay! Also, I just recently discovered the amaziness of The Raven Cycle. I need book four right now! But also, I don't want it because then the series will be over!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I definitly loved the books on your list that I've read.
    Levi turned out to be my biggest character crush. I compulsively re-read Fangirl and The Road Home this
    year. I have paper copies but they are also on my kindle so anytime I was stuck
    anywhere for a few minutes I whipped out my phone. And then of course, once I
    started reading them I just had to keep going. :)

    Happy New Year. I hope it's a good one for you and your family.

    ReplyDelete
  4. Cruel Beauty made my list as did The Chocolate Temptation and Landline. I still need to read the Suffragette Scandal. I just started that series a couple of months ago. Despite not really enjoying the first two as much as I wanted, I LOVED third and am especially interested in this one.

    ReplyDelete
  5. I'm with you on Ronan. MAN, I love those boys. (And Blue. Seriously.)

    ReplyDelete
  6. Ooh, you do. I get more entwined with each book.

    ReplyDelete
  7. Amazingness is right! I'm dreading the end as well . . .

    ReplyDelete
  8. Oh, man. LEVI.


    And you know how I feel about The Road Home. All the love. ALL OF IT.


    Happy New Year, Misti!

    ReplyDelete
  9. Yes, the 3rd and then Suffragette have been my favorites as well! So good.

    ReplyDelete
  10. We are one on those boys, Melissa. And Blue. Just love.

    ReplyDelete
  11. I really enjoyed Burn for Me, too. I can't wait to read the next book in the series! I really need to check out the Rosamund Hodge book. I've been hearing nothing but great things about it and I love fairy tale retellings.

    ReplyDelete
  12. That's exactly how I felt when I finished. Next, please!


    Yes, the Hodge was definitely my favorite fairy tale retelling of the year. Totally worth it.

    ReplyDelete
  13. So many good ones on this list! Isla, Sinner, Blue Lily, Eleanor&Park, Fangirl, Jackaby (I could go on.) I always love your Best of the Year posts. My favorites of 2014 is up today.

    ReplyDelete
  14. A lovely list of books! Also you've a physical copy of the Sarina Bowen *jealous*


    (Also, I just bought the collector's edition of FANGIRL today - it was half-price in my local bookstore and therefore obviously meant to be.)

    ReplyDelete
  15. Your reading year was waaaaay better than mine. Much more variety and fun!! I have yet to read Rosamund Hodge or Laura Florand (although Chachic keeps recommending her titles!).

    ReplyDelete
  16. I'm so glad, JoLee. I love talking about our favorites together.

    ReplyDelete
  17. I know! I got it for Christmas and the physical copy makes me ever so happy. It has a lovely matte finish.


    I am so relieved you have your own special edition now. All is as it should be. :)

    ReplyDelete
  18. Lol. Aww. I am crossing my fingers for a better year for you this year, Sandy!


    Oooh. When you are in the mood for something romantic, DEFINITELY dive into the Florand. So lovely and swoony.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Yay for The Chocolate Temptation, Burn for Me and the Year We Hid Away! I have those in my list too. I always love your favorite books photo at the end of the year, you (or your husband? hehe) take such beautiful shots.

    ReplyDelete
  20. I'm happy to see Never Judge A Lady by Her Cover made your list. I've been kind of hesitant to pick it up. The revelation about Chase in the last book has me reeling, with not much idea of what to expect from this one..


    I hope 2015 is a lovely reading year for you!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan