Skip to main content

Wanted Pretties

Wow. These books . . . they need to be on my shelf. Like I am starting to glance at my calendar and mumble about how many months left in the year. Not only have they all three been on my must-have list for some time now, but they got themselves such fantastically pretty covers to boot. Way to go, little books! Way to stand up for yourselves and demand the eye-catching treatment. Now why do you have to go and be out next year?!

Catherine by April Lindner
This is the second novel from Ms. Lindner. After falling utterly in love with Jane, her contemporary retelling of Jane Eyre, I was signed on for life. But knowing that her sophomore novel is a contemporary retelling of Wuthering Heights sort of nudges me over into supreme fangirl territory. How will she update that bit of insanity? I can't wait to find out. Love the idea, love the cover, love everything.
Due out January 2nd

Unravel Me by Tahereh Mafi
I'm incredibly pleased with the cover revamping that went on with the paperback of Shatter Me, and very happy the cover of the sequel will match it. I know people really went one way or the other with Ms. Mafi's first book, but I am firmly in the excited for the next one camp. It will have Warner in it, yes? Then everything's gonna be CRAZYTOWN. I approve of this entirely.
Due out February 5th

Let the Sky Fall by Shannon Messenger
This one is a new-to-me author, though I'm familiar with her online presence. I would have been happy without the couple on this cover, as I'm digging the rusty, dusty clouds and the clean, clear font. But I'm not opposed to the romantic touch the floating pair add and hope it bodes well for what's inside, which by all accounts includes sylph guardians, musical weapons, and general storminess.
Due out March 5th


Comments

  1. hmm Catherine does look interesting!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Amy, yeah. You know she's gonna play around with it some, and I like the whole underground musicians/told from two perspectives 20 years apart thing . . .

      Delete
  2. I don't think I'm going to pick up Unravel Me. But! I am excited about Catherine, (even though it is spelled with a C which is just so smug). And I got Let the Sky Fall at Simon and Schuster and can't wait to start it!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Emily, well, you know, Katherine with a K is just so much more alluring than Catherine with a C. ;-)

      Delete
  3. Anonymous1:31 PM

    I haven't even read Jane, yet. Though I do love the original Bronte! They should totally make these into movies, too. Love the contemporary twists on old classics!

    --Sharry

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sharry, ooh. Read it. Read it now!

      Delete
  4. I'm a bit nervous about "Catherine" because I don't like "Wuthering Heights", but I still plan to get the book because I thought that "Jane" was pretty good.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sabrina, yeah, I hear ya there. But I've had good response from people who didn't like JANE EYRE liking JANE quite a bit. So maybe the same will be true for CATHERINE. Here's hoping!

      Delete
  5. I'm waiting for all of these too--I've never read Wuthering Heights (and I don't think I will; the story sounds too depressing) but if April Lindner's writing a retelling of it, I will DEFINETELY read it<3. And Unravel Me! I'm glad that they changed the cover for the first book and kept with the theme. As for Let The Sky Fall, I have no doubt it'll be good. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Sandy, it's not a tale for the faint of heart. That's for sure. I do love huge chunks of it. But it's definitely an acquired taste.

      Isn't the new cover style so much better for the Mafi books? So much better.

      Delete
  6. Musical weapons sound awesome.

    Mafi's books don't appeal to me, but I love the covers so much.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Livi, yes, that caught my eye immediately as well.

      Yeah, Mafi's style is so specific that it's never gonna appeal to everyone. Which is just fine.

      Delete
  7. JANE was fabulous; I don't like WUTHERING HEIGHTS, so I'm skipping out on CATHERINE, though. The cover for LET THE SKY FALL is b-e-a-utiful.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Nic, it really was fab. And such a good reread, too.

      That LET THE SKY FALL cover is definitely a looker. :)

      Delete
  8. Oh fantastic! I've been wondering how Jane was, because I've had my eye on both it and Catherine...the fact that you fell utterly in love has me convinced I must! I haven't read Shatter Me yet either, but I'm all about the cover revamp. That alone makes it a more appealing read to me. I picked up Shannon Messenger's forthcoming MG at BEA, if that's a win, I'll probably check out Let the Sky Fall as well!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Heidi, read it, read it, read it. Can you hear that? It's the sound of JANE calling your name . . .

      Yeah, SHATTER ME's original cover was just so lame in so many ways. These are much to be preferred.

      Let me know about the MG. I is curious.

      Delete
  9. Oh wow, Catherine looks gorgeous! Thanks for the heads up on that, adding it to the Goodreads wishlist now. I'm not a fan of Wuthering Heights but Jane was wonderful so I'm still planning to check out April Lindner's next novel.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Chach, doesn't it? I love what they came up with and how it matches JANE. Picturing them next to each other on my shelf makes me a happy camper indeed.

      Delete
  10. Hmm. I enjoyed Lindner's JANE, and I'll take a look at CATHERINE, even though I'm not a fan of WUTHERING HEIGHTS. I'm looking forward to LET THE SKY FALL.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lin, I'm so interested to see what she's done with it. Such a crazy, tempestuous novel and characters. Seems like it could be very hard to translate them to modern culture. *fingers crossed*

      Delete
  11. Angie I am so excited about Let the Sky Fall and need that on my shelf as well. Not only is the cover gorgeous, but the synopsis sounds unique and interesting too. I have yet to read Jane and Shatter Me, but they seem like great novels and their sequels look great too. Amazing post Angie!(:

    ~Keertana
    Ivy Book Bindings

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Keertana, I agree. Very interested to read it.

      Definitely give JANE a go sometime. It knocked my socks off.

      Delete
  12. I really LOVE the cover Catherine and can't wait to see what's up April Linder's sleeve!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. April, oh boy oh boy, am I stoked for that one!

      Delete
  13. Anonymous1:05 PM

    wow the Let the Sky Fall cover is totally gorgeous, and a new-to-me author and title. color me intrigued!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Charlotte, oh good! Another one for the TBR. It really is lovely, isn't it?

      Delete
  14. Aw, thank you so much for featuring LET THE SKY FALL. So glad to hear you love the cover as much as I do. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Shannon, thanks for stopping by! Happy to feature such a lovely. Can't wait to read it.

      Delete
  15. Oh I hadn't seen that paperback cover of Shatter Me - my paperback has the same cover as the hardback (girl in white dress etc.). I agree, these ones are very cool, and much more sophisticated. I'm with you on the Warner-craziness: bring it on! Such fun. :)

    I really enjoyed Jane too so I'm definitely going to read Catherine. Haven't heard about Let the Sky Fall before so I'll have to look into it.

    ReplyDelete
  16. These all have really beautiful covers. I'm really looking forward to all of these. Too bad they all come out 2013!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Interview with Diana Peterfreund + Rampant Giveaway!

Ever since I fell in love with Diana Peterfreund 's Secret Society Girl series last year, I've been hoping I'd get the chance to interview her here. Tomorrow marks the release of her new novel, Rampant , and let me tell you that you have not read a book like this before. You can read my review here , but all you really need to know is that it's a story about killer unicorns and the young women who hunt them. You want to read it now, don't you? Oh, yeah, and it's YA and the first in a series! To celebrate the release, Diana graciously answered a few of my most burning questions. As she is always a delight, I know you'll enjoy them as much as I did. First things first: When did the idea for Rampant first hit you and what (if anything) did you know right off the bat? In early 2005, just after selling Secret Society Girl , I had this dream of being chased by a very dangerous unicorn. I woke up and went to go look it up to see if I could figure out the meani

Linger by Maggie Stiefvater, Review + Giveaway!

It seems a long time ago now that I first read Shiver -- the first book in the Wolves of Mercy Falls trilogy. But looking back I started it on the plane ride to BEA and finished it there in the conference center, fingers gripping the cover tightly, while sitting on the floor in one of the many autograph lines. And now it's May again and BEA is right around the corner and I emerge from my recent and nasty reading slump stupor to find a copy of Linger sitting in my mailbox like a glove thrown down in the dirt. "I will be the one to pull you out," it whispers to me slyly. "Just open me up and take a sip. I promise--one sip is all it will take." And I look at it with fear and longing written all over my face. "You promise?" I ask  intently. "Because it's been a long walk in the cold and I'm not sure I can take another disappointment." "Just open me up," it says, confidence written all over its cover. And so I do. And everythin

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan