Skip to main content

Angie's Best Books of 2018

It is the last day of the year. Are you with me? We made it this far. I think we'd better keep going. I always enjoy arriving at this final post of the year so much. I love seeing all of your lists and all of the books and words and hearts and monumental efforts that gave you life this year. That helped get you to this point. With me. I have felt rather keenly these last 365 days how in it together we are. How we have to be. And I am grateful for you. For each of you who leave comments and send recommendations and write and read and push forward into the darkness. I'm so grateful for you. 

And so here I leave my best books of the year. It's a whopping 28 titles, guys. Twenty. Eight. I haven't had a list that long in a handful of years at least. That is something to smile at. A record of a year well read, indeed.

Photo by @aamith
(in the order in which I read them)


FYI, that's 11 contemporaries, 10 historicals, 3 fantasies, 2 mysteries, 1 urban fantasy, and 1 steampunk. Of those, 15 were romances, 3 were retellings, and 1 was a novella. So, contemporaries and historicals were neck and neck this year, and romances were hugely on the rise. I think that after the last two years, I have needed places to land that were at once soft and fierce, smart and loving. I am grateful to have found them.

Best New Discovery of 2018

Given that she has something like a few dozen books out already, it's actually a bit of a shock that I only discovered Jenny Colgan this year. But thank heavens I did, because I fell irretrievably in love at the mere epigraph of The Cafe by the Sea. And by the time I landed on the shores of Mure along with Flora, it was all over. That island is now a fixed point on the literary map of my life. And it is simply not a hardship loving these characters. Not a hardship at all.
hiraeth (n): a homesickness for a home to which you cannot return, a home that maybe never was; the nostalgia, the yearning, the grief for lost places in your past
Biggest Character Crush of 2018
Rowan Whitethorn
www.gabriellabujdoso.com

Look, I will always be devoted to Chaol Westfall. From the moment he stepped up to the line. But there was also a moment when this grouchy Fae burst onto the scene in Heir of Fire and was forced to contend with our girl on every single level. And that moment led to that unforgettable reunion scene in the alley in Rifthold. And it all added up to me being kind of a fan of Rowan Whitethorn. And like Rowan's heart, mine proved itself large. Big enough to hold them all.
To whatever end.
Book I Reread the Most in 2018
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

I read it every November. For obvious reasons. But this year I also read it aloud to my teenage boy, an unparalleled and deeply satisfying experience. I read the final line, and he stared at me and finally said, "And you're sure there isn't a sequel?" I know, kid. I know. And now we have that shared memory and those beloved characters in common. Which means this perfect, perfect book is not yet through giving gifts to me and mine. If you haven't read it, it has something for you, too. I left it on someone's doorstep this holiday season.
Does anyone ask you why you stay, Sean Kendrick?"

"They do."

"And why do you?"

"The sky and the sand and the sea and Corr.
Best Books I Read in 2018 that were Published in a Different Year


Happy New Year!

Comments

  1. I remember talking to you about each of these!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh Angie, I cannot wait to read some of the books I love so dearly with my own kids the way you are doing. I mean, I get to now but it's beloved picture books and I can't wait for more. Going to read some Jenny Colgan this year as she sounds precisely up my alley.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's the absolute best. So much to look forward to! And I feel sure you're going to enjoy the Colgan. Definitely start with The Cafe by the Sea.

      Delete
  3. That's one high pile! I always love seeing the physical copies.

    I've the Kearsley in my TBR pile - will have to bump it up the list.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Lol. Isn't it, though?

      And, yes. I loved the Kearsley. It's incredibly sweet and romantic.

      Delete
  4. I’ll have to try Somme of these! I remember seeing My Oxford Year and wanting to read it but never got around to it

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

You Might Also Like

Angie's 2021 Must Be Mine

 It's like I don't want to curse anything by saying too much about my hopes for 2021. But I have zero problem talking about the upcoming books I'm excited to read. And so here are my most anticipated novels of 2021: And no covers yet on these, but I'm looking forward to them just the same: Neverland by Meagan Spooner Subtle Blood by K.J. Charles Devil in Disguise by Lisa Kleypas Which titles are on your list?

Angie's Best Books of 2020

 It is the last day of the year. Of this year specifically. "Well done," is all have to say if you're reading this. Well done, you. It's been quiet for awhile now around these parts. For obvious reasons. But I've been reading continuously and ever so gratefully. I have felt such a profound sense of gratitude this year for all of the creators in this world who have been tirelessly and so lovingly creating art for all of us. We have needed it so much. I have needed it so much. And this year of all years, the creation of art has felt like such a fierce act of love. So thank you. And so here I leave my best books of the year. My list stands at fourteen titles. And that feels just right. photo by @aamith (in the order in which I read them) A Heart So Fierce and Broken by Brigid Kemmerer If I Never Met You by Mhairi McFarlane Slippery Creatures by K.J. Charles Christmas at the Island Hotel by Jenny Colgan Boyfriend Material by Alexis Hall The Great Godden by Meg R

Blog Tour Review | Breath Like Water by Anna Jarzab

Today, I'm happy to be taking part in the blog tour for Anna Jarzab's Breath Like Water courtesy of Inkyard Press . You are likely familiar with my love for sports and sports-themed novels (may the Giants play again soon). So I was intrigued by both the lovely cover and the concept of an elite swimmer who peaks quite young but is still determined to claw her way to the Olympics.   ABOUT THE BOOK This beautifully lyrical contemporary novel features an elite teen swimmer with Olympic dreams, plagued by injury and startled by unexpected romance, who struggles to balance training with family and having a life. For fans of Sarah Dessen, Julie Murphy and Miranda Kenneally. Susannah Ramos has always loved the water. A swimmer whose early talent made her a world champion, Susannah was poised for greatness in a sport that demands so much of its young. But an inexplicable slowdown has put her Olympic dream in jeopardy, and Susannah is fighting to keep her career afloat when two importan